MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

How much have you spent on EuroRack gear!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next [all]
Author How much have you spent on EuroRack gear!
davidjez
So I'm fairly new to the Euro Game. I picked up a MN shared system a few months back. Compared to virtual synths and even out-board synths like Moog Sub 37 or Mother 32 these pale in comparison in terms of cost.

So out of curiosity:

(1) How much have you spent on your Euro-Rack to date ($k)
(2) Are you still happy you made the decision to get into modular?
(3) How do you manage the cost so it's within your budget to sustain?
(4) How do you manage the constant urge to want new modules to play with (HAHA!).

Would love to hear some stories and advice.

Thanks!

----

Update (after 24 hr later).

Appreciate everyone's input. If I can summarize what people are saying.

(1) Cost is anywhere from $1k to $15k (or above) for a system.
(2) Yes, everyone seems happy with the decision to go to modular.
(3) Varying degrees of money management, but no one is going starving because of this. But it's definitely addictive so you need to watch out.
(4) The desire to buy new modules subsides more over time. A good suggestion is to find a few MFG that you gel with and stick to them to limit options and desire.

Good discussion!
MacSynth
davidjez wrote:
(3) How do manage the cost so it's within your budget to sustain?
(4) How do you manage the constant urge to want new modules to play with (HAHA!).

1. way too much!

2. YES!

3. Not good, but right now it is losing momentum

4. Not good either, but my funds are depleted anyway. Not sure how it will go when they fill up though.
facklr
(1) Ohhh uhmmm yeah....hmmm
(2) Oh yes. No. It's awesome, and I hate it so much