MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Best editor for TX802? (2016 edition)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Best editor for TX802? (2016 edition)
cyclopeatron
I just picked up a Yamaha TX802. I'm interesting in exploring FM synthesis and it seems like a great place to start. Plus it was dirt cheap. I am totally new to this kind of synthesis - I have only worked the analog modular systems up until now.

Editing off the front panel of the TX802 is tough so I want to get editor software for my MacBook. I know there are several threads around the internet touting various software options, but these threads are kind of confusing to read and many are out of date. So I want to pose these questions to the MW community here at the end of 2016 to get the latest skinny:

What's your favorite software for FM voice and performance crafting on TX802?

Also - if an editor advertises itself as working on the DX7, will it work on the TX802?

Thanks!
peAk
I just got a TX7 and I am using this which works absolutely fantastic

http://www.fm-alive.com/pages/DXM.aspx

Midiquest is probably the best & most powerful but very expensive

https://www.squest.com/Products/MidiQuest11/Instruments/YamahaTX802/in dex.html
ignatius
Midiquest can be a real shit show for some synths.. i've had various experiences with it. it's kinda dumb in some ways. sometimes works ok but often just doesn't communicate well w/from computer to midi device.

i gave up using it a couple years ago.
booger