MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Erica Synth Black Varishape VCO2 issue
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Erica Synth Black Varishape VCO2 issue
AudioCycles
Hi Guys,

I'm new in modular world but have a pretty good experience with synths.
So, i bought a Moog mother 32 a few months ago and now i'm extending it. I bought a second hand Black Varishape VCO2 but i can't get it properly tracking. When i tune it on a certain note with the frequency knob it's ok. But when i play other notes they goes more and more out of tune. The 1voct is connected to the moog "kbd" issue that provides the pitch. I made some test with a microbrute and ha no problem with it. I also made a test using a Kilpatrick K1600 controlling the VCO pitch directly and had the same problem...

Would you any idea about what could happen?

Thanks for your help.
Dave Peck
Since the mother 32 doesn't have a way to adjust / calibrate the 1V/oct output that would be used for controlling external oscs, and you plan to use the new osc with the mother 32, you should calibrate the new osc so that it tracks properly when connected to the mother 32.

First, are you sure you are connecting the mother 32's 1v/octave keyboard output to the correct "1V/OCT" input on the Black VCO2? If yes, and it still does not track correctly to the mother 32, you need to calibrate the Black VCO2.

There should be one or more small trim pots on the back of the Black VCO2 for adjusting the 1 volt-per-octave tracking, no?

Do you have experience calibrating the 1v/octave pitch tracking of analog oscillators?
AudioCycles
Thanks for your reply Dave.