[BUILD] JasperIN - Midi and CV/Gate Input for Jasper/Wasp

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

[BUILD] JasperIN - Midi and CV/Gate Input for Jasper/Wasp

Post by Altitude909 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:06 pm

This is the build thread..

ORDER PAGE HERE

Image
Image

Usage

Due to the limitations of the Wasp design, it will respond to midi keys C2#-C5 only, anything outside of that range is ignored. Effectively, you get a little more range than the keyboard. Same is true for the CV.


BOM

Mouser Cart



Firmware


Current version is 0.09a.

Download: HERE

You need teensy loader: https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/loader.html

Simply open the app, load the hex file, set it to auto, and plug in the Jasperin interface via USB. The code will upload and the yellow LED will come on indicating that it is down. The jasperin is powered by the synth only, it does not power from the USB so it has to be plugged in to the LINK port

[video][/video]

The Resonator:

This is much easier than it looks. Simply tin one pad, flux, flow and slide the part into position. Then simply touch the tip of your iron to the bottom next pad and touch the junction with solder. It will wick under the part (you will see solder at the top of the pad). There is metalization one the bottom and sides of the resonator so the solder wicks right up the part.

Image



The 0805 LED:

There is a dot showing the orientation of the part, it matches the side of the LED with the line on one side, the correct orientation is below.


Image




The TH LED:

The correct spot to bend the part is right behind the two little thicker parts on the LED leads.


Image

Mounting Holes



Download: HERE
Last edited by Altitude909 on Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:44 am, edited 18 times in total.

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Sun Dec 04, 2016 1:13 pm

Calibration:

The voltage at the test pad next to the trimmer should be half of the CV input voltage.

JasperIN Controls v0.09a:

The CV/gate jacks need to be unplugged while you configure the JasperIN.
  1. - Configuration mode (Switch S1)
    Puts the JasperIN in configuration mode for configuration of the channel and CV input range

    Midi Channel Configuration:
    1) Press the learn button to put the JasperIn into configuration mode
    2) Send one midi note in the midi channel you want to set the JasperIN to respond to

    CV range configuration:
    1) Press the learn button to put the JasperIn into configuration mode
    2) To configure the CV input range, send one midi note in the octave listed in the following table:

    Code: Select all

    Midi Note # | Octave | Range
     0 to 11    |   -2   | 0.083v-3v
    12 to 23    |   -1   | 1.083v-4v
    24 to 35    |    0   | 2.083v-5v
       >35      |   Any  | 3.083v-6v
    
  2. - Teensy bootloader mode (Switch S2)
    Puts the JasperIN in bootloader mode for firmware updates

    The USB port is currently used for uploading the code only.
Last edited by afx on Thu Jun 01, 2017 9:51 am, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
GryphonP3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1033
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by GryphonP3 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:37 pm

Piece of cake!! Just paid :sb:
My cat can eat a whole watermelon ...

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:51 pm

I asked you through email but I thought I would ask here to help others out.

So the midi is working but I am getting stuck notes really bad. (Nektar Panorama Controller)

Is there a setting for this? Or should I only be sending a fixed velocity to it? What exactly are the two buttons used for? I know you mentioned midi learn and reset but what exactly do you mean?

Also, I am assuming midi doesn't respond to pitch?

Thanks

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:37 pm

peAk wrote:So the midi is working but I am getting stuck notes really bad. (Nektar Panorama Controller)
We never ran into that problem during development or testing, could you please try with a different controller and post the results.
peAk wrote:Is there a setting for this? Or should I only be sending a fixed velocity to it?
There is no setting for now, velocity is not supported.
peAk wrote:What exactly are the two buttons used for? I know you mentioned midi learn and reset but what exactly do you mean?
One button is for firmware upgrade and the second button is for midi channel selection.
peAk wrote:Also, I am assuming midi doesn't respond to pitch?
You are correct

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:02 am

Just to add (which is what I asked in the email as well, this is a better place for this anyway)

How are you powering it?

What is the SMD LED doing that's on the board? (i.e. is it solid, flickering etc)

when it gets stuck, can you still use the jasper keybed?

I assume you have it connected to the aux LINK port (the one toward the edge of the jasper pcb, not the one in the middle)

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:32 am

I am powering it with the aux link2 next to the edge of the PCB. The jasper is being powered through a 9v adapter.

What would happen is I would play some notes, maybe 5 or 6 and then eventually just one note would get stuck and only that note would sound. Nothing I would do at that point would stop the note unless I unplugged the adapter. Once the note would get stuck, the jasper keyboard wouldn't respond either unless I unplugged the adapter

I am currently at work but will test some more when I arrive home. I will try a different controller as well as a different midi port. I will also try using a fixed velocity and see if that helps.

I know the SMD LED was on but I can't remember if it was flickering or solid.

I will report back any findings and possible do a little video.

I appreciate the help guys.

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:49 am

try a different controller but I doubt it's that. The whole thing is hanging up for some reasoon.

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:48 am

So I messed with it some more last night.

The SMD led is solid, I assume that's correct? The midi adapter is getting 5v.

I tried writing a midi sequence in Cubase and sending it to the Jasper and that seemed to work fine. If I start using my midi controller or the piano roll in Cubase though, a midi note gets stuck pretty quickly. Once the note in stuck, I can hit other notes on the jasper keyboard and they will sound but the note stays stuck. I can also see the stuck note in Cubase on the piano roll. Only way to get rid of the stuck note is to repower the Jasper.

I also tried a "fixed" velocity on my controller but that didn't help.

I haven't had a chance to try another controller or port yet but that will be my next step.

Maybe as some of the adapters get built and users use different controllers, we can see if others experience this or if it's just on my end.

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:48 am

Works great thanks SO SO MUCH!

User avatar
mbroers
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:02 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by mbroers » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:50 am

I initially had keyboard sensitivity to the maximum and nothing worked right and I assumed it was because I had just opened up the jasper to solder the connector and I disrupted something. Just a dumb suggestion but if you have issues that sound like stuck notes mess with the keyboard sensitivity and the hold switch.

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:07 am

mbroers wrote:I initially had keyboard sensitivity to the maximum and nothing worked right and I assumed it was because I had just opened up the jasper to solder the connector and I disrupted something. Just a dumb suggestion but if you have issues that sound like stuck notes mess with the keyboard sensitivity and the hold switch.
I will definitely mess with that. I did already with the hold but didn't change anything

Thing is, I can see the note stuck in Cubase's piano roll

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:11 am

wait, it sticks in the software? Take that out of the loop, plug the midi output of the controller directly to the JasperIN. There is nothing on the device that would cause a stuck note in your software

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:24 am

Altitude909 wrote:wait, it sticks in the software? Take that out of the loop, plug the midi output of the controller directly to the JasperIN. There is nothing on the device that would cause a stuck note in your software
No, when I first got the stuck note, I was connecting straight from the din midi on my controller to the jasper midi adapter and I was getting a stuck note.

Yesterday I tested it again and this time I brought Cubase into the mix and this was how I could visually see the note stuck.

I have a pretty elaborate midi setup at home and a few different midi interfaces and synths with midi out that I can try.

Until other users have this issue, I will assume it's on my end and try to work it out. No worries. When I sent a midi sequence from Cubase it was working great even at fast tempos.

User avatar
peAk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 10:36 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by peAk » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:34 pm

***Update***

So I went ahead and tried using the midi out of one of my synths and the jasper midi adapter works perfect. I have absolutely no idea what is causing my main controller to get stuck notes with it but I will have to work that out or just use another controller.

Anyway, thanks for the help and thanks for spending the time and effort on this adapter.

:sb: :sb: :sb:

hono2k
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:21 pm
Location: Japan

Post by hono2k » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:01 am

There is no mini jack for CV / gate in the BOM List

User avatar
synthetek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:32 am
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Post by synthetek » Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:03 am

hono2k wrote:There is no mini jack for CV / gate in the BOM List
They're in the BOM , but not in the Mouser cart because Mouser doesn't have them.

http://smallbear-electronics.mybigcomme ... -pc-mount/

hono2k
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:21 pm
Location: Japan

Post by hono2k » Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:39 am

synthetek wrote:
hono2k wrote:There is no mini jack for CV / gate in the BOM List
They're in the BOM , but not in the Mouser cart because Mouser doesn't have them.

http://smallbear-electronics.mybigcomme ... -pc-mount/
Thx!

User avatar
synthetek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:32 am
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Post by synthetek » Tue Dec 13, 2016 4:11 am

Finished mine tonight. There are a few mistakes in the BOM , the mouser BOM Has 10 - 10K resistors but 11 are needed ( you should really be buying extra anyway , Its only a little more to buy 100) R15 220 OHM is missing from the google BOM but its in the Mouser BOM. I haven't tested it yet , I still need to make the bale to connect it to the Jasper.

Image

Image

User avatar
Altitude909
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3357
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm
Location: Meesheegan

Post by Altitude909 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 7:01 am

ok. The boms should now be consistant, if anyone spots anything else, please let me know

User avatar
synthetek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:32 am
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Post by synthetek » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:27 pm

Is the .06 firmware already on the chips shipped with the PCB?

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:39 pm

synthetek wrote:Is the .06 firmware already on the chips shipped with the PCB?
No. The fw is only loaded on the full built kits.
If you bought the barebones or pre-soldered hard parts kits, you need to load the fw into the chip.

User avatar
AonFLuX
Common Wiggler
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:19 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by AonFLuX » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:49 pm

afx wrote:
synthetek wrote:Is the .06 firmware already on the chips shipped with the PCB?
No. The fw is only loaded on the full built kits.
If you bought the barebones or pre-soldered hard parts kits, you need to load the fw into the chip.
Ok, is there any instructions on how to? Or is it self-explanatory?

User avatar
GryphonP3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1033
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 3:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by GryphonP3 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 1:51 pm

afx wrote:
synthetek wrote:Is the .06 firmware already on the chips shipped with the PCB?
No. The fw is only loaded on the full built kits.
If you bought the barebones or pre-soldered hard parts kits, you need to load the fw into the chip.
It is very easy via teensyloader and usb. No weird FTDI cconnection or command line or anything.
My cat can eat a whole watermelon ...

afx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 6:14 pm

Post by afx » Tue Dec 13, 2016 2:49 pm

AonFLuX wrote:
afx wrote:
synthetek wrote:Is the .06 firmware already on the chips shipped with the PCB?
No. The fw is only loaded on the full built kits.
If you bought the barebones or pre-soldered hard parts kits, you need to load the fw into the chip.
Ok, is there any instructions on how to? Or is it self-explanatory?
Just follow the instructions in the first post of this thread.
Let me know if you need any more help

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”