Easiest/best way to rack Frac units in 3u?

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Easiest/best way to rack Frac units in 3u?

Post by dubstephead » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:58 am

Hello, I have about 900 hp of Doepfer style Eurorack space in a travel case and was wondering what would be a good (easy) conversion technique to fill some of that with Frac modules and possibly some 5u units?

Was also wondering about power supply's? Should I just buy a +15 / -15 supply or is there a way to use some of my (monster, Trogotronic m/15 higher power system) Euro PSU's juice to power up some Frac's?

Thank you so much for any info!

User avatar
werock
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 835
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:38 am
Location: London

Post by werock » Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:42 am

It won't work very well trying to mount Frac modules in the same set of rails as your Euro stuff, as the mounting holes are a slightly different pitch. The best bet would be to use one set of rails for Frac only.

I'm using Vector rails for my new Frac case so they can be used, you just end up with about 2mm of the top/bottom of the front panel going beyond the rails - I use the vector rails that don't have a lip on them because of that.

You will need a +/- 15v power supply, although some modules may work on a 12v supply, it will be a bit hit and miss. They are designed for +/- 15v.

drumsofd00m
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 875
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 6:59 pm

Post by drumsofd00m » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:08 pm

I seem to recall firmly that Hinton's PSU can have a +/-12V tap when the main connectors are +/-15, and possibly vice versa. I use a standard 15V one and have been happy with it. Note that Hinton uses several distribution cards per unit so one tap would be able to power several modules (e.g. 15V cards have seven connectors each).

However both that and most Blacet modules won't fit in any typical shallow Eurorack cases and are better placed in more common studio racks.

Some modules can be adapted OR may run on either Vpp swing without mods except for the connectors, but I'd definitely ask each manufacturer about each module before attempting that instead of relying on forum replies.

Can't comment on any Euro PSUs. Maybe instead of a full cross posting to both forums keep it more specific to each topic.

User avatar
e-grad
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3317
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:55 am
Location: Berlin

Post by e-grad » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:19 pm

Several years ago I mounted one or more Blacet modules in a Eurorack. Keep in mind Eurorack is a mounting standard for various application incl. lab stuff. There are Euro rack mounting rails w/out the "lip" oppossed to the "lipped" rails Doepfer is using.

You'll want a mounting rail w/out such a "lip". However, I cannot recall wether I was able to mount Frac and Euro in the same frame -probably yes. You'll have to check the distance of the faceplate's upper and lower mounting holes for both Frac and Euro. I doubt that Frac and Euro will sit nicely side by side without gaps.

Get yourself one rack of Frac. At least my Frac mounted in an Euro rack had looked shitty anyway.

User avatar
fracmonkey
JB or not JB, that is the question.
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:16 pm

Post by fracmonkey » Mon Dec 12, 2016 2:12 pm

You will probably want more than one row of Frac at some point so it might just be better to go for the double row Blacet rails and PS800 with PSCONN3. Plug and play, not much trouble.

dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Post by dubstephead » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:35 pm

e-grad wrote:Several years ago I mounted one or more Blacet modules in a Eurorack. Keep in mind Eurorack is a mounting standard for various application incl. lab stuff. There are Euro rack mounting rails w/out the "lip" oppossed to the "lipped" rails Doepfer is using.

You'll want a mounting rail w/out such a "lip". However, I cannot recall wether I was able to mount Frac and Euro in the same frame -probably yes. You'll have to check the distance of the faceplate's upper and lower mounting holes for both Frac and Euro. I doubt that Frac and Euro will sit nicely side by side without gaps.

Get yourself one rack of Frac. At least my Frac mounted in an Euro rack had looked shitty anyway.
Thank you! I have 900hp of 3u Without the lip:) I'm gonna try to mount them together for now as I just got a few Metalbox modules on the way and want to :nana: as soon as possible. Will try to post pics to see if it works. Would just buy a Frac-Rak but I have a roadcase and I'm trying to make the ultimate portable modular.

dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Post by dubstephead » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:59 pm

fracmonkey wrote:You will probably want more than one row of Frac at some point so it might just be better to go for the double row Blacet rails and PS800 with PSCONN3. Plug and play, not much trouble.
Thank you so much for the reply. Yes I I know I will, I'm just trying to build a 1000hp portable case atm and want all my favorite modules in there. Only got money for one project at a time:/ Gonna try and get some 5u's and even some weird 2u's in there as well and a full distortion/tube ( Metasonix :tu: ) pedal board. Gonna try to post pictures if it works.

dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Post by dubstephead » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:04 pm

werock wrote:It won't work very well trying to mount Frac modules in the same set of rails as your Euro stuff, as the mounting holes are a slightly different pitch. The best bet would be to use one set of rails for Frac only.

I'm using Vector rails for my new Frac case so they can be used, you just end up with about 2mm of the top/bottom of the front panel going beyond the rails - I use the vector rails that don't have a lip on them because of that.

You will need a +/- 15v power supply, although some modules may work on a 12v supply, it will be a bit hit and miss. They are designed for +/- 15v.
Thank you for the insight. luckily I have the rails without the lip. Will try to post pics if it works.

dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Post by dubstephead » Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:09 pm

drumsofd00m wrote:I seem to recall firmly that Hinton's PSU can have a +/-12V tap when the main connectors are +/-15, and possibly vice versa. I use a standard 15V one and have been happy with it. Note that Hinton uses several distribution cards per unit so one tap would be able to power several modules (e.g. 15V cards have seven connectors each).

However both that and most Blacet modules won't fit in any typical shallow Eurorack cases and are better placed in more common studio racks.

Some modules can be adapted OR may run on either Vpp swing without mods except for the connectors, but I'd definitely ask each manufacturer about each module before attempting that instead of relying on forum replies.

Can't comment on any Euro PSUs. Maybe instead of a full cross posting to both forums keep it more specific to each topic.
Thank you for the insight. Checking out the Hinton supply's right now. It seems I will just buy a dedicated Frac Psu to be safe. Don't want to damage my Metalbox modules in any way!

dubstephead
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 347
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:43 pm
Location: Portland

Post by dubstephead » Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:55 am

Got my MetalBox/Cgs tube module a bit ago and my Cynare should be here tomorrow. I'm really excited because I got the unit to fit perfectly in my Eurocase!
I just had to unscrew the 8 inch pcb/tube sticking out the back, lay it flat in the case, and the module sticks past the top rail a little further than a Euro modules but still looks and fits great :yay:
lucky I have about an inch from my top rail to the edge of my case so all is good. Now I just gotta put a static-proof bag aroung the pcb to be safe, add a Frac Psu, and Hopefully everything will be ready to go!

Hopefully I can upload some pics once its all done.

acidblue
Common Wiggler
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:50 pm
Location: The Darkside

Post by acidblue » Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:00 pm

Damn it dubstephead your avatar is damn distracting.
Who is that anyway?

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”