MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Sequencers: Modules or External?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Sequencers: Modules or External?
Numanoid92
Premise, I'm a Newbie to the modular world.

I became a great Simian Mobile Disco fan because of their album Whorl.. Many of you already know that they used JUST modulars for that record. Watching their setup i saw that there were NO sequencers modules and they just used the Cirklon (which i know is like the Holy Grail of hardware sequencers).

So, when it came time to start building my Eurorack setup i started to having this thoughts. Do i/we really need sequencers modules?

We have many external sequencers possibilities: Cirklon, Social Entropy Engine, AS Oberkorn, that giant Koma Sequencer, AS Megacity, Korg Sq1 and the Beatstep pro.

My question is, can i live without modular sequencers and do interesting and o[/img]riginal sequence with one of this multitrack hardware sequencers?
ersatzplanet
I feel if you are going to make tonal music, you just can't beat a MIDI based sequencer. A MIDI sequencer that can live on a tablet or phone or a stand alone desktop unit can typically run rings around row/column, step sequencers or many of the ones that can be mounted in a cabinet.