MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

What makes a good VCA? And does Veils count as one?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author What makes a good VCA? And does Veils count as one?
jgoney
Hi!

I'm pretty new to this, so while I'm starting to understand why "you can never have too many VCAs", I'm still not so sure what to look for in one. I built the Synthrotek MST dual VCAs, and it does the job okay, but without really knowing what to look for, I can't judge if I'm missing out (I hope that makes sense).

On a related note, I was thinking of adding some more VCAs via Mutable's Veils. Can anyone vouch for Veils?
syntheticthings
Works for me.
thermionicjunky
Both designs use the SSM2164 VCA IC, which is a very good chip. The MST has a switch for linear or exponential response. Veils has a continuously variable response control, so you can experiment with the response to taste.
flashheart
Not much to look for really. Lin/log switching / variability may be useful. Sound quality or character may be be something to look for for audio VCA use. Beyond that it's just your preference for layout / features.

If you're happy with the Synthrotek fine, don't sweat it.
cyclopeatron
Veils is great. I used mine in every single patch. No bleed. Highly recommended.

I was tempted to buy a second Veils, but now I'm looking at the new Intellijel Quad VCA, which does the same and more, including bias and boost.
skeller047
If you haven't bought yet, I'd recommend the Intellijel Quad VCA, or a pair of uVCA's- precisely because of the bias control. When you are doing things other than just a straight basic synth voice patch (VCO -> VCA in, Envelope -> VCA CV in), it can be very useful.