Stillson Hammer mk2 firmware v1.777

Digital Audio Electronics - discussion & support.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, governor blacksnake, solidox

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Stillson Hammer mk2 firmware v1.777

Post by mt3 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 5:03 am

Announced on the facebooks (Apr 13). Will be out soon.

Bug Fixes
* Remote reset step 2 works correctly
* preset reload works correctly for all playing styles (moved sliders on active page no longer overwrite stored data on reload)
* CV input B behavior fixed

New Feature
* sequence step rotation

User avatar
jasev
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:27 am
Location: OVER THERE

Re: Stillson Hammer mk2 firmware v1.777

Post by jasev » Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:19 am

mt3 wrote:Announced on the facebooks (Apr 13). Will be out soon.

Bug Fixes
* Remote reset step 2 works correctly
* preset reload works correctly for all playing styles (moved sliders on active page no longer overwrite stored data on reload)
* CV input B behavior fixed

New Feature
* sequence step rotation
Cool, not updated a Hammer yet. Hope it doesn't give me any hassle, been reading up on firmware updates and it makes my brain cell go dizzy

guestt

Post by guestt » Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:58 pm

Yay :party:

Step sequence rotation is huge - I use this a lot in Patterning on the iPad, instant variation in a logical form!

Thanks for sharing :)

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sat Apr 15, 2017 9:48 pm

Baddcr wrote:Yay :party:

Step sequence rotation is huge - I use this a lot in Patterning on the iPad, instant variation in a logical form!

Thanks for sharing :)
So Patterning is worth it? Does things others don't? I'm still squatting the fence.

User avatar
sendepause
Common Wiggler
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 3:54 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by sendepause » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:31 am

* CV input B behavior fixed

:party:

guestt

Post by guestt » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:05 am

Patterning is one of the few apps I still use on the iPad mt3

It's stunning... I have it hooked up through an Endorphin.es Shuttle Control and synced (via Link) to the Octatrack and the Modular, works a treat!!

Rotating polyrhythms and probability :banana:

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:43 pm


User avatar
Robscorch
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:52 am
Location: Just this side of hell Texas
Contact:

Post by Robscorch » Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:28 am

sendepause wrote:* CV input B behavior fixed

:party:
:nana: :nana: :nana:

:party:

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:55 am

Oh man! Yay!
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

User avatar
Kujo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 229
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:26 pm
Location: Beirut , Lebanon

Post by Kujo » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:29 am

all i gotta do now is find someone who can update it for me.
I am offended.

https://soundcloud.com/kujo-project

FS(EU): Metasonix RK4 / Metasonix F-1

User avatar
auxren
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:05 pm
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Post by auxren » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:07 pm

By CV input B behavior, do they mean when you change the slider and the value on the screen snaps back to one value and doesn't actually update to the new value? If so, yeaaaaaahhhh buddddy; that's been bugging me.

:omg:

User avatar
Dark Barn
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dark Barn » Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:24 pm

I posted this on IME Facebook also but you might want to check for this yourselves regarding the new rotate feature:

It seems like the sliders don't rotate along with the information. So if you offset things by plus one for example, the slider adjacent to the right of the step you are trying to control now controls that step.
I’ve been searchin’ for the dolphins in the sea

The Weak in Review: Poetic_stere0

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:06 pm

Dark Barn wrote:I posted this on IME Facebook also but you might want to check for this yourselves regarding the new rotate feature:

It seems like the sliders don't rotate along with the information. So if you offset things by plus one for example, the slider adjacent to the right of the step you are trying to control now controls that step.
Hmmm, unsure if that's intentional or a bug.
:hmm:

User avatar
Dark Barn
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:51 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dark Barn » Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:19 pm

I hope it's a bug, because things get weird if you try to work on a rotated sequence. If the intent is as stated, to rotate random sequences to give them a proper downbeat feel. Although I can see where it also might be useful. Something I haven't tried: rotating inactive steps into the active "window," that could be cool :)
I’ve been searchin’ for the dolphins in the sea

The Weak in Review: Poetic_stere0

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:58 pm

Dark Barn wrote:I hope it's a bug, because things get weird if you try to work on a rotated sequence. If the intent is as stated, to rotate random sequences to give them a proper downbeat feel. Although I can see where it also might be useful. Something I haven't tried: rotating inactive steps into the active "window," that could be cool :)
I'm not certain this is what you are talking about, but the firmware ReadMe says the following:

"Please note that the sliders will continue to program the actual steps printed on the faceplate when moved. This parameter (and sequence length) will become CV controllable in the next update."
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

User avatar
weirdo
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:47 am
Location: Germany

Post by weirdo » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:21 pm

Since the update to fw 1.777 my display shows wrong cv-values (all stuck on C..) when playmode is stopped and i select individual steps. The shmk2 plays it right but i want to enter exact values..the gate-values are still shown correct.

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:53 am

I tested the Assignable B and it works exactly as I thought it would when I first got the SH. Namely, if you assign it to pitch, turning the knob (with CV or physically) into the negative range will drop the pitch of the assigned steps.

Now I am re-evaluating my desire for a dedicated 64-step sequencer since this will let me instantly alter a sequence (technically you could do that before, but only by adding voltages, not by subtracting).

I haven't tested it with gates yet, but presumably one could shorten or remove steps from a sequence of gates with the same method.
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:37 am

Ok so I took a few minutes before work to test gate behavior with Assignable B and the results are somewhat puzzling. At full ccw, it will turn off gates with sliders below halfway (it seemed to work with values below 60), but it had no discernable effect on gate length. I would expect the gates above 60 to at least get shorter, but that's not what I observed. Note that the gates were going into a Double Andore MkII with the envelope set to ASR so the gate lengths would affect the envelope sustain.
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

Flamusic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Flamusic » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:01 am

weirdo wrote:Since the update to fw 1.777 my display shows wrong cv-values (all stuck on C..) when playmode is stopped and i select individual steps. The shmk2 plays it right but i want to enter exact values..the gate-values are still shown correct.
Same problem here.
Update works fine on MAC OSX with Pickit 3
Preset save works fine.
If the hammer is not playing and i skipr thru the steps it displays the last note where i stopped the hammer on all steps.
Also triggering the note with the Encoder triggers the same CV value no matter what the slider does.
That was much better before the update.
Any one still has Version 1.666 for a downgrade ?

User avatar
mt3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2834
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: vancity
Contact:

Post by mt3 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:10 pm

Flamusic wrote:
weirdo wrote:Since the update to fw 1.777 my display shows wrong cv-values (all stuck on C..) when playmode is stopped and i select individual steps. The shmk2 plays it right but i want to enter exact values..the gate-values are still shown correct.
Same problem here.
Update works fine on MAC OSX with Pickit 3
Preset save works fine.
If the hammer is not playing and i skipr thru the steps it displays the last note where i stopped the hammer on all steps.
Also triggering the note with the Encoder triggers the same CV value no matter what the slider does.
That was much better before the update.
Any one still has Version 1.666 for a downgrade ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:41 pm

OK, I'm an idiot, can someone explain what sequence rotation is supposed to do? I've enabled it a few times, but I honestly can't hear a difference.
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

Flamusic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Flamusic » Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:26 pm

mt3 wrote:
Flamusic wrote:
weirdo wrote:Since the update to fw 1.777 my display shows wrong cv-values (all stuck on C..) when playmode is stopped and i select individual steps. The shmk2 plays it right but i want to enter exact values..the gate-values are still shown correct.
Same problem here.
Update works fine on MAC OSX with Pickit 3
Preset save works fine.
If the hammer is not playing and i skipr thru the steps it displays the last note where i stopped the hammer on all steps.
Also triggering the note with the Encoder triggers the same CV value no matter what the slider does.
That was much better before the update.
Any one still has Version 1.666 for a downgrade ?
Cool, thank you...
I dont know if i should downgrade because the save feature is also cool :)
Would be nice to have booth.
Can downgrade the SH be a problem ?

Flamusic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Flamusic » Tue Apr 25, 2017 3:33 pm

rustyjaw wrote:OK, I'm an idiot, can someone explain what sequence rotation is supposed to do? I've enabled it a few times, but I honestly can't hear a difference.
If you have some synced background music ( a drum beat, metronome, synth line or a song) to wich the SH is synced....
You can hear what the sequence rotation is doing.

If you hear the SH playing alone its not so easy to hear the diffrence.
But with a beat or melody wich is not changed by thetrack rotation you can hear it easy. Its cool

User avatar
rustyjaw
Common Wiggler
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Location: SF Bay Area
Contact:

Post by rustyjaw » Tue Apr 25, 2017 5:49 pm

Flamusic wrote:
rustyjaw wrote:OK, I'm an idiot, can someone explain what sequence rotation is supposed to do? I've enabled it a few times, but I honestly can't hear a difference.
If you have some synced background music ( a drum beat, metronome, synth line or a song) to wich the SH is synced....
You can hear what the sequence rotation is doing.

If you hear the SH playing alone its not so easy to hear the difference.
But with a beat or melody wich is not changed by thetrack rotation you can hear it easy. Its cool
It's a per-track feature, right? Not global to all tracks in a given preset...
Synth Enthusiast | Abandonment Photographer

Flamusic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Flamusic » Wed Apr 26, 2017 12:50 pm

rustyjaw wrote:
Flamusic wrote:
rustyjaw wrote:OK, I'm an idiot, can someone explain what sequence rotation is supposed to do? I've enabled it a few times, but I honestly can't hear a difference.
If you have some synced background music ( a drum beat, metronome, synth line or a song) to wich the SH is synced....
You can hear what the sequence rotation is doing.

If you hear the SH playing alone its not so easy to hear the difference.
But with a beat or melody wich is not changed by thetrack rotation you can hear it easy. Its cool
It's a per-track feature, right? Not global to all tracks in a given preset...
Yes, its per track

Post Reply

Return to “The Harvestman”