FH-1 sync

Discussion and support for Expert Sleepers' Silent Way software and hardware.

Moderators: Kent, os

User avatar
lloydb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:49 pm

FH-1 sync

Post by lloydb » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:43 am

Hi,
I'm having trouble using an FH-1 for modular sync from an external midi clock.
The trouble is that the clocked square LFO's are not starting in phase with the MIDI clock, or even the FH-1's A-H sequencer LED's. They start on different beats with each restart of the clock. I can use the phase control to line them up while the clock is still going but once restarted they are out of time again.
I have tried many different combinations of PW, lfo clock speeds, MIDI clock divisors, MIDI clock sources and ppqn settings but am unable to get anything reliable happening.
Does anyone have a solution for this?

To clarify, the LFO's are staying in sync, but they don't restart in phase with the clock.

Thanks

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:47 am

Have you tried the setting

http://expert-sleepers.co.uk/fh1userman ... l#settings
When set to 1, causes tempo-synced LFOs to stop when the internal clock and external MIDI clock are stopped.

User avatar
lloydb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:49 pm

Post by lloydb » Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:14 am

Thanks OS!
Actually yes I even had that setting enabled. But turns out it was the delay from PEG's async rise time as well as an error using Max's transport that were throwing me out.
Big ups on this excellent module :)

User avatar
lloydb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:49 pm

Post by lloydb » Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:21 am

Actually... while I have your attention. There's another thing I haven't been able to get my head around.
I'm unable to start the LFO's with a clock in X. Clock at X will start the sequencer though. OR if I start the clock with external MIDI I can disconnect MIDI and keep driving it with a clock at X. Is there a setting I am missing for this?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Tue Apr 18, 2017 2:21 pm

That's a bug. The setting mentioned above is conflicting with the LFOs taking clock from the X input. If you turn the setting off it should work.

User avatar
lloydb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 6:49 pm

Post by lloydb » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:48 pm

Ah perfect. Yep all works. Thanks!

phormz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:30 pm
Location: London, U.K

FH-1 output reset trigger?

Post by phormz » Wed May 10, 2017 10:48 pm

Hey Os

I am sending midi clock to the FH-1 from a Cirklon via USB. I read in the manual that I can output the clock pulses on the FH-1, but is it possible to somehow generate a reset trigger at an FH-1 output when I press play on the Cirklon?

Thanks - Andy


phormz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 4:30 pm
Location: London, U.K

Post by phormz » Thu May 11, 2017 3:04 am

Amazing! ...Thanks so much Os

Loving my FH-1 and expander even more than before!!

:banana:

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Wed May 17, 2017 3:43 pm

Hi! Please forgive me my newbiequestions. I stumbled through dozens of threads and i know everything has been answered in some ways.
But as everyone has specific requirements its hard to combine all the different scripts for me...

I had the qMi before and want to use the FH-1 + FHX as a simple cvinterface for my Octatrack without the need of any additional lfos (for now).
My testsetup consists of Ableton --> Midisport --> Miditech-MidifaceII --> FH.
Later on i will just use the Miditech with the OT which works fine out of the box.

I need 2 Monovoices with velocity or any other "classic" modulation output i can P-Lock in the sequencer and assign to filters, decays etc. (done via direct control?)

One Polyvoice with modulation and cv/gate x3.
One Unisonovoice on the same outputs. Therefore i´m simply switching the midi ch from 16 to 15 the OT.

I also want to have 1 Trigger Output on FHX Out 7, Midich 11.
(which i will probably get by using an "empty" monochannel as read elsewhere)

A "Midi-Clock" and a Run/Stop Out. (Gate high when on to start the MN Tempi)


1. First of all, the 3 Synthvoices work so far. I have the two Monos on the FH and the Poly in RoundRobin/Unisono on my expander.

2. Now I want the Clock output to be static, with no need to send cc´s.
OS suggested to add "HEX b0 67 01" to the script.
Does that say i... just add this line to the script?

3. How can i output this Clock on output 8 now?

4. Can the Run/Stop behavior also be constant without the need of sending cc´s?

5. I was able to get Run/Stop at a "random" output with my ableton testfacility, but how can it be routed to Output7 for example?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Wed May 17, 2017 6:01 pm

And how would the fixed Run/Stop look in the script?
:guinness:

EDIT: HEXB06601 ?

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Wed May 17, 2017 11:18 pm

Ok, forget my messy post.

This is what i want:
Image

I just gave it a try and wrote my own script but i am not able to upload it after converting.
FH-1 is always indicating script error.

For debugging i checked a txt file from the web-UI which already worked, put it in the "script to hex" and the hex didn´t do it. :despair:



And here is my first attempt in "scripting":

FH-1 script v1
MCV1:9:0-127:C0G8
MCV2:10:0-127:C1G9
MCV3:11:0-127:G14
MCV4:12:0-127:PS2:C2G10:C3G11:C4G12
MCV5:13:0-127:P:C2G10:C3G11:C4G12
MCV6:14:0-127:PS1:C1G9:C2G10:C3G11:C4G12
MCV7:15:0-127:P:C1G9:C2G10:C3G11:C4G12
HEXB06601
HEXB34740
HEXB5677F
RC11
CC1:1:5
CC2-3:1:13

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu May 18, 2017 2:31 am

Do you have the latest firmware on? Otherwise the FH-1 might barf on e.g. the unison setup which was only added recently.

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 6:02 am

Yes. 1.7 is on.
I tried it with the first 4 lines only and FH didn´t read it either.
But when i output the same lines via the web-tool it works.

Are there possibly form errors? not detected any gaps...

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu May 18, 2017 6:12 am

Zip up and post your actual script file.

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 7:40 am

os wrote:Zip up and post your actual script file.
Here you go:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 7:44 am

hmm..
MCV3:11:0-127:G14

should actually be G15 btw.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu May 18, 2017 7:53 am

The last line of the script doesn't have a carriage return after it.

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 8:52 am

:doh:
Oh dear.

The script is finally flashed!
But sadly it doesn´t work out as expected:

All good:
1. Run/Stop
2. Direct Control on Output 6, 1/6, 1/7
3. 4Voice Uni on CH12

Not good:
0. Midi CH 9/10 are on 1,2 and 5,6
1. Midi CH 11 no Triggers
2. Midi CH 13 the Gate come out of Output 1/1.
3. Midi CH 14 the Gate come out of Output 8.
4. Midi CH 15 all signals on FH 1/2/3/4 like in Duo Mode, while the Gates are also on Out 8.
5. no clock on Out 8


:sadbanana:

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 11:52 am

If i route the polys the the expander it works all fine.
I can use it like this for now.

As i mentioned, Run/Stop works nicely so far.
But still no Clock. Should these lines do what i want in general?
(always generate synced sqare on Out 8)

Clock Speed Ch3:CC71:64 = HEXB34740
Square Ch5:CC103:127 = HEXB5677F

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu May 18, 2017 12:25 pm

Should be OK. Post your whole script now? (As an attachment)

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 12:59 pm

Mndscrpt wrote: Clock Speed Ch3:CC71:64 = HEXB34740
Square Ch5:CC103:127 = HEXB5677F
Ch3 should be B2 and Ch5 B4 as they begin at 0?!?!?
:hmm:

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 1:37 pm

Ok. Thanks for your help!
V06 is my setup for the gig which works beside the clock issue.
V07 is the one with the preferred order of outputs which messes around.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Mndscrpt on Fri May 19, 2017 5:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13383
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Thu May 18, 2017 2:07 pm

Is that upload right? 429.49 KB ?

User avatar
Mndscrpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 6:15 pm
Location: LEIPZIG/GER

Post by Mndscrpt » Thu May 18, 2017 4:59 pm

dont worry. Thats just the png i use to keep myself aware of what i´m doing.

Post Reply

Return to “Expert Sleepers”