MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Release on vinyl, why bother
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Release on vinyl, why bother
razzkazz
Hi All

I am sure there might be discussions on the web about this but I am asking here as it's specific to what we do.

My question is, if I am recording/editing/mixing/mastering in the digital domain what's the point releasing on vinyl as it will have a different frequency response and dynamic range and as such it will not reproduce my creation as I hear it after mixing/mastering.

I actually have a couple of thousand vinyl records and have released on vinyl in the past, but only digital now. I'm not interested in the fetish element, I am a sound engineer also and do mastering. It's just that I often see artists who create music using modulars (or any equipment for that matter) release it on vinyl. So why do it? Or is it still about marketing and such? On that last point, anything I released on vinyl sold much better that digital. Is that the answer to my question wink

Thanks
Alan
listentoaheartbeat
Some related discussion here:

https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=181511
rauch
i think it really depends on the style of music and uhm the target group. i observed that older more experienced people with a more distinct taste for music, who maybe even are producers or djs, do still prefer vinyl. it's just more valuable and appreciated. all the music i buy is on vinyl. i listen on youtube, soundcloud, bandcamp, etc but i rarely buy digital. and most music i listen to is still released on vinyl.
ActionMaxVA
In todays world its not practical. If you have an audience that will buy enough to make it profitable then for sure.