MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Recording audio - Lower or Higher Volume?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Recording audio - Lower or Higher Volume?
Numanoid92
I'm no expert. I started recording synths in a DAW just 10 months ago and i have no experience in mixing and mastering.
My dilemma is: is it better to record audio (synths, voice or whatever) at lower volume and then increase in the DAW or doing the opposite so, record at higher volume and then decrease in the DAW?

I connect my instruments into my audio interface direct and sometimes process them with pedals and i noticed that some pedals tends to distort when i have high volumes in my synths (for example my Memory Man doesn't "work" well with my Pro-2 at higher volume and tend to distort a LOT).
So the question is: do i have to keep my instruments volume lower and then increase in my DAW (at taste) or doing the opposite?
xfs
Guitar pedals in general expect a lower signal level to work with than most synths will put out. That said, if it sounds good, it's good. If not, adjust.

For recording, there are two things to watch out for. If your level is way too low, you might run into noise problems, if it is too high and you clip the ADC inputs, it will distort. When setting up in your software, you should see the level you get putting into your soundcard, max is 0dBfs. Keep your average level around -15 to -10dBfs and you should be good. It depends of course on how dynamic your overall signal is...
felixer