MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Lap steel planning (and planing!)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author Lap steel planning (and planing!)
mek42
I'm planning to build an 8 string lap steel guitar. I have a tuning in mind. From high to low:

A 10
F 13
D 16
B 21
G 30
E 36
C 46
A 56

I'll probably use this pickup: http://www.lacemusic.com/Deathbar_5.0.php

My intended use is to have fun with the continuous fretless glissando. I figure that having a dominant 7th available would help with modulation. I'm also learning to compose, and may use this to see how some ideas sound. I have no guitar experience and less steel experience, so please let me know if I''m thinking silliness.
Bodo1967
mek42 wrote:
I'm planning to build an 8 string lap steel guitar.

thumbs up I built a lap steel several years ago myself - just plain ol' 6 string though smile.

(I have changed the order of quotes in the following, hope that's OK for you.)

mek42 wrote:
I have a tuning in mind. [...] I figure that having a dominant 7th available would help with modulation. [...]so please let me know if I''m thinking silliness.

There is no general rule concerning tuning - just go with what you like and what works best with your kind of playing. You can always change to a different tuning if you're not happy, or if you need some different sonic character for another song.

mek42 wrote:
My intended use is to have fun with the continuous fretless glissando.

You will, definitely. There is nothing that beats a lap steel when it comes to playing fretless cool .

mek42 wrote:
I have no guitar experience and less steel experience, so please let me know if I''m thinking silliness.