MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Modules first, housing later: how did YOU start?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author Modules first, housing later: how did YOU start?
Homepage Englisch
Hi everyone,

I had a dream since I was a teenager and watched ELP's "Pictures at an Exhibition" to own THAT thing...now at the age of 40, after years of mostly vintage synths and playing in bands and whatnot, I decided to go eurorack modular.

Yes, I'm a complete noob. I've yet to buy my first case - LC9 PSU3 - but I already have dozen or more modules, the stack of boxes is getting higher than my writing desk now.

Is this...a bad thing? Stupid even?

I suppose many people start with the case and then gradually add modules and play with them (unless finances permit getting all at once). And I totally see the benefits of it.

However, I kind of figured I would rather have a bunch of modules for making a usable configuration befor I even do my first beep.

Seems I've got bitten by an eurocrack bug, and I never did even a basic patch.

(The case is the first on my priority list. Next month. I promise. To myself. I guess.)

How did YOU start? Anyone with a similar experience? What are pros and cons in your opinion? If you could go back to where you started, would you do anything differently?

(Apologies if there's a similar thread. I've found nothing. But my google-fu is not on Shaolin level tbh)
sduck
If you have some kind of power supply, you can use a cardboard box as a case, if you're clever like that. For a little while at least. At least as long as your dignity will allow you.

Oh, you'll need patch cables also.
Standup