MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Best Eurorack Filters Today (2017)?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11  Next [all]
Author Best Eurorack Filters Today (2017)?
puggle
A lot of the threads I found on this topic are outdated by several years, sometimes full of modules that aren't even made any more. So, time to update!

Fwiw, I'm a modular noob, just picked up a Makenoise powered skiff, mostly to process hardware synths. So I just got a blue lantern diode ladder synthacon filter (didn't know about their sketchy practices at the time), a happy nerding FM unit, and an STG wavefolder.

Put my minimoog through the Blue Lanter Synthacon Filter, wasn't thrilled, but when I put my Prophet 600 through it, WOW, it all of a almost become a paraphonic Xpander (and I've got an Xpander, which I'm now thinking of selling!). (and happy nerding, while not a filter, what a great unit! stg is cool but fussier).

So what filters or filter-like stuff like lpgs really do it for you today? What do you think is the best for each "type" (ie: MS-20 clone, SSM, 12db state variable, cascaded ota, many poles, many slope types, etc.?) Which are the grungiest and dirtiest (I'm honestly less interested in these), and which are the smoothest and sweetest?
puggle
oh, and if you can say WHY you like a particular filter, that would be great. The screechiest, the roundest, best formants, etc.
shreeswifty
my favorite one so far is hands down the XOAC Devices Belgrad. I have gone through quite a few LPGs and MMFs over the past two years and have finally kept a 3 Sisters, a XOAC Belgrad and an Epoch Modular Twin Peaks but as for 2017: Belgrab.