MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Building a case
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Building a case
cornutt
I'm finally building a proper case. The "cube" open frames that I've been using for 10+ years have finally gotten to be too awkward; I've got them piled up to the ceiling on top of the Hammond, the carpentry is slapdash, and I've run out of room and I've got modules in boxes with no place to put them. So here is the beginning:

cornutt
It's going to be five rows; three vertical and the two bottom ones at a 45-degree angle. Each row is approximately 20 MU units; I didn't bother computing exact units dimensions because it's going to be a mix of MU and MOTM, so the units won't come out even anyhow. The material is 5/8" birch plywood. I'll use furring strips for the mounting rails. I'll glue on strips of 5/8" flat molding to trim the plywood edges. I'll probably finish it with clear oil-based urethane, although once I get a look at the completed unit, I might decide to use water base.

Open frame power supplies will be mounted on the horizontal crossmember at the bottom. I am going to build a cart to put it on that will have the bottom somewhere between 24" and 30" off the floor, and it will be open in the bottom to allow clearance for modules in the bottom row. The depth of the vertical part is 6". I may wind up regretting that, but I measured everything that I've got installed in the old cubes right now, and 6" is as far as anything sticks out. And the back will be open, so if something sticks out a bit, it's not really a problem. Once it's installed and in place, it will probably never leave the room, so I'm not too worried about things getting bumped. The cart will be on casters so I can get to the back.
cornutt