MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

How did you get started performing live?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Play Out! Performance Modulars  
Author How did you get started performing live?
morgve
Hi everyone,

I know there are a lot of discussions about playing live with the modular already, but I could not really find one summing up how people got started.

> So, what made you take the modular out the first time?
    > What did your setup look like?
    > What was the context?

I'm super interested in this because I'm thinking of doing that myself at some point. I've been making music for about 15 years, mostly computer-based and/or in a band. I have played a lot of shows, but never with the modular yet.

I have a "sound design" oriented rack, and am now thinking of ways how I could use that for live performances without it being flat or boring (mostly because of lack of noticeable change/patches).

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/507899

Thanks a lot for your input!
pixelmechanic
I'd been playing live for probably 5 years before taking the modular out. Mostly improvised laptop "avantronica" (somewhere between Fenn O'Berg and dubby techno)

I think the first time playing the modular live *might* be this trio in 2008 with Sean_Process (playing a 6u ASys rig) and Dave Meckin (playing an Arp Solus (yum))

I was playing a 3u ASys rig (2 vco, ringmod, s&h/noise, filter, vca, env), and I had a Frostwave Resonator MS20 filter clone too.

The context was a regular improvised music night that we used to put on, called GrindSightOpenEye, at a friendly 'hipster' cafe.

I don't think the way I play has really changed much in nearly 10 years... but I use gestural controllers more, and I normally have 3 'voices' active.

Navs