midiDAC: daisy chaining MIDI sockets

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
User avatar
Pav
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: UK Hampshire

midiDAC: daisy chaining MIDI sockets

Post by Pav » Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:35 am

Hi,
Im planning to use the 19" 1u high fpd design on the website with some mods.

I am not a big fan of the midi in and thru sockets centered on the front panel. Call it feng shui.

simplest idea is to shift the MIDI sockets to the far left. but wanted to check
alternatives of daisy chaining to a pair on the rear or side panel , or just dropping MIDI thru

a) Is it ok to have a pair of MIDI IN sockets wired up so i can connect via side/back panel or the front panel and would i need to add any components?

b) If I just wish to omit a MIDI thru socket - do i need to link any pcb pads or ano mod?

Ta
rgds Pav

User avatar
Synthbuilder
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3059
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:12 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Re: midiDAC: daisy chaining MIDI sockets

Post by Synthbuilder » Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:46 pm

Pav wrote:Is it ok to have a pair of MIDI IN sockets wired up so i can connect via side/back panel or the front panel and would i need to add any components?
You could indeed wire a second pair of sockets in parallel with the ones on the front panel. However, you would not be able to use both inputs or both outputs at the same time. That is, only one of the input sockets and one of the output sockets could be used at any one time.
If I just wish to omit a MIDI thru socket - do i need to link any pcb pads or ano mod?
No need for any links. Just simply omit the unwanted connector.

Tony

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”