MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Basic DIY Troubleshooting
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Basic DIY Troubleshooting
jbook808
Hi all, I'm looking for a little guidance on troubelshooting a couple of DIY eurorack kits I've built. I've built up a really nice DIY system, but there are 2 modules that don't work as expected.. I've got a multimeter and I know I need to measure to check and see if voltages are going where they are supposed to, but I am a novice troubleshoot-er and don't know even know where to start placing meter probes to find these readings.

The first module is the Befaco HexMix VCA. Channel 3 of the module is not working. All other channels work perfect. Manu from Befaco told me to measure to see if the output of each summing section gives the same value. He also said that pin 1 of IC3 is the output of the CV summer.

Here is the schematic for reference: https://www.befaco.org/docs/Hexmix_VCA/Hex_Mix_VCA_V4_Schematic.pdf

I've found IC3 on the board, it is an smd component and extremely hard to reach with my probe while the boards are connected.

Is there an easier way to test than trying to touch pin 1 of the SMD chip and ground on a mini jack at the same time? I don't own any clips to help with the tests. I might buy some to make things easier. Also, can i just touch the outside metal casing of the mini jacks as a ground point or do I need to touch something else?

I'm also assuming I should be doing these tests with the module powered on but I'm worried I'm going to make a connection by accident and blow up my whole rig. Is this something I should be careful of?

Any tips or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
Synthiq