MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Noob question on resistor tolerance
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Noob question on resistor tolerance
zorglub76
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to both Eurorack and electronics. After two successful builds (Befaco's Rampage and Instrument interface), I started building Erica Synths Polivoks VCO II. There I found resistors with 0.1% tolerance.

1. Does this mean that I can get e.g. 1% tolerance resistors that are spot on (100.0 kOhm) and use them?

2. Does stated tolerance also mean that during the use, resistance would change in 1% or 0.1% margin (because of changed temperature, or something like that)?
LoFi Junglist
The tolerance marked on the package indicates the precision in manufacturing, It does not indicate quality.

Please note in some circuits the values are quite critical (voltage biasing circuit etc), whereas in other parts (for example a 'pull up' or 'pull down' resistor) the exact value is not critical at all, and a 5% or even 10% tolerance resistor would have no impact on the function of the circuit.

Most capacitors have 20% tolerance by the way sad banana

buy what you can afford, precise components are getting cheaper and cheaper every year thumbs up
zorglub76
@LoFi Junglist - that means that if I need 100k 0.1% resistor, I can measure resistance of the resistors that I have in my bag, and if one of them is in 99.9-100.1k range, I can use it?
LoFi Junglist
zorglub76 wrote:
@LoFi Junglist - that means that if I need 100k 0.1% resistor, I can measure resistance of the resistors that I have in my bag, and if one of them is in 99.9-100.1k range, I can use it?

Theoretically yes, but your average consumer DMM should not to be trusted with that type of precision.
zorglub76
Ok, thanks!
mskala