Oakley VCO switched octave course range ?

Discussion and support for users and builders of Oakley Sound musical products.

Moderators: Kent, Synthbuilder

Post Reply
banjostring1815
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:32 am

Oakley VCO switched octave course range ?

Post by banjostring1815 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:26 am

Has the Oakley VCO ever had a modification whereby the course range control pot has been substituted with a resistor chain rotary switch instead ?
(Such as on the Moog 901a) where each turn raises or lowers an octave.

If anyone has done it would they explain how it's done (if it is possible) ?

User avatar
Pav
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:21 pm
Location: UK Hampshire

Post by Pav » Sat Nov 04, 2017 1:52 pm

https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=78996

If I've cut and pasted right..here is q&a on same topic from 2013.
rgds Pav

User avatar
terjewinther
Common Wiggler
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 1:51 am
Location: Norway

Re: Oakley VCO switched octave course range ?

Post by terjewinther » Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:45 pm

banjostring1815 wrote:If anyone has done it would they explain how it's done (if it is possible) ?
I have modified one of my Oakley VCOs with an octave switch. I just feeded the + and - side to a row of trimmers, one for each octave.

banjostring1815
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:32 am

Post by banjostring1815 » Sat Nov 04, 2017 8:34 pm

Thank you for these replies.

This will make life easier as I do frequent octave switching. The trimmer is a good solution.

I deduced that there are about 5-6 octaves controlled by the Course Tune pot.
But in the low frequency end its difficult to hear octaves.

I guess a rotary switch ...resistors and trial and much error.

Post Reply

Return to “Oakley Sound Systems”