MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Blueshift Boss DC-2 chorus ensemble DIY clone
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Blueshift Boss DC-2 chorus ensemble DIY clone
LED
I've been on the lookout for something DIY-able regarding a similar chorus "ensemble" effect I used to have in a Roland VP-330 vocoder but it's either "DIY from scratch" (I'm not an electronics engineer), "etch your own PCB" (I don't have the equipment for that), buy an overpriced vintage original unit or an inferior replicate (Behringer CC-300).
Then I came across this DIY clone of a Boss DC-2 "Dimension C" where you can buy ready made PCBs for it! Check out these links:

Blueshift DC-2 Dimension C clone
Blueshift DC-2 blog info page for the above

Has anyone ordered from them and/or built this clone?
Does it work with line-level signals (or can be modified to do so), or only guitars?
I intend to use it with a DIY rack vocoder I'm working on.
Isaiah
I’m currently building one.
PCBs are partially populated with components I had in stock but I need to order more.
I’ll report back once finished but I suspect that will be in January.
Synthbuilder
LED wrote:
I've been on the lookout for something DIY-able regarding a similar chorus "ensemble" effect I used to have in a Roland VP-330...

The ensemble unit in the VP-330 is way more complex than the one in the DC-2. The DC-2 is 'just' two BBD delays modulated by one LFO with the left channel modulated in anti-phase from the one on the right. It's a nice effect but it doesn't really give you the lush ensemble sound. It's more of a thickener really - like the one on the JP-4.