MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Feedback on my first modular system (dotcom) proposed layout
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Feedback on my first modular system (dotcom) proposed layout
craigmcginley
I've been watching lots of youtube and reading on MuffWiggler, trying to figure out a good entry level system for myself. I'm new to modular, and frankly synths in general, but I'm a long time musician and understand the basics of subtractive synthesis and love the idea of classic 5U modular.

Seems like a 22 space system is a good entry level with plenty of options still. It's also about the price range I'm in (~$3000). I'm looking to start mostly with pretty simple patches, creating ensemble sounds (orchestral, Wendy Carlos) as well as spacey-leads, basses, etc. controlled through midi. I figure I'll grow into sequencing and more complicated patching with time.

I've put together a proposed modular grid design for a dotcom portable 22 setup. I'm hoping folks would be willing to offer feedback on it, keeping in mind I'm brand new to this.

It is basically a customized version of the dotcom default portable-22 layout. I would really love to have both the State Variable (Q107a, to save space) and Ladder (Q150) filters in there, but I'm a little worried about the placement of the filters up in the top right. Also, not sure if two filters for a system this size is overkill, and if there are enough multiples, EG, VCA, etc to support the setup.