MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Anything like AVDog in Euro?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Ciat-Lonbarde  
Author Anything like AVDog in Euro?
williamjturkel
I'm just learning Plumbutter 2 after a year of playing with an almost complete set of IFM modules (can't very frustrating get very frustrating fourses very frustrating anywhere). I really like the undulations of the AVDogs and miss them now when I play the Eurorack. Are there any modules or patches that could go in an AVDog direction? I have, and love, the Triple Sloth, but that doesn't orbit in quite the right way.
Navs
Can you describe what AVDog does so that people who are unfamiliar with it can make suggestions?
williamjturkel
That's why I posted in the CL forum: I figured only the Peter Blasser heads would be familiar with the sound.

Basically, AVDogs gently undulate in pitch and panning, not in a cyclic way (like Sloths) and not in a smoothed random walk way (like URA) but more like kelp waving underwater.
pugix
See my description of the Rollz5 AVDog.

http://pugix.com/synth/rollz-5-schematics/

The Rollz5 version does not have CV like the Plumbutter AVDogs (schematic is published by Peter B.).

AVDog consists of three sub-modules, that you could patch up using Eurorack modules.

Oscillator - Any signal could be used for the input actually. AVDog has a simple internal oscillator.

Dual VCA - PB AVDog has dual outputs. One is rising as the other falls in level. But you can use only one VCA.

State Variable Filter, struck by a pulse to ring, generates the undulating envelope that is applied to the VCAs. This may be harder to find in Euro, because it has to go to LFO frequencies. But it's the key to AVDog.
williamjturkel
Thanks, Richard, that is super helpful.
Navs
I read all the fora, William hihi