Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

User avatar
synthcube
you will be assimilated
Posts: 2083
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:42 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Post by synthcube » Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:00 pm

we're happy to offer full kits for both the black and white magpie panel versions-- all the parts you need, and the Tides ARM flashed with the latest firmware already!

Enjoy, and thanks to electric mist, magpie, altitude909 and jakplugg for all the work on this

https://synthcube.com/cart/index.php?ro ... ption=true
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/2SynthCube

synthcube webstore www.synthcube.com/cart
music from outer space: www.musicfromouterspace.com
blacet research: www.blacet.com
MOTM DIY Analog Synthesizers: www.motmsynthesizers.com
music from outer space euro smt: www.mfoseuro.com

User avatar
saiteron
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:44 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Contact:

Post by saiteron » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:16 am

hello all,

just got done with a build of uTides from a Synthcube kit and I'm completely baffled. i plugged it in and it powered on just fine but all the knobs aside from the main frequency knob do not seem to be functioning properly. i assumed this is because i need to calibrate it so i attempted to initiate the calibration procedure by long-pressing the mode button but nothing happens (it just changes modes as though i short-pressed the button instead). there is zero documentation available on the Synthcube site relating to the specific version/firmware i'm working with here and i cannot find any documentation anywhere regarding what this could indicate. i have read up on all three firmware versions (official, Parasites and Sheep) and none seem to reference any of the things i'm experiencing. the only thing the module has done properly is enter firmware update mode by holding the mode button at startup. i was able to successfully push v1.1 standard Tides firmware to it but it still does not function as expected. it is possible i have built it wrong as there are also no detailed build guides readily available anywhere and i'm experienced with builds but far from a pro, but a thorough inspection hasn't revealed anything in need of servicing and the spotty functionality and sparsity of documentation has me at my wit's end. anyone have any ideas on what might be wrong or how i can enter calibration mode?

EDIT: the level input doesn't seem to be working. this would likely explain its inability to enter calibration mode. Synthcube has recommended I reflow all the potentiometer and jack joints.

EDIT 2: after reflowing all solder joints for potentiometers and jacks i'm still having the same issues. i did a little more research and reading and some close comparison with the Eagle files and i've noticed a few things. first: the board i have is labeled Swirls/Lamb v1.1 but is actually a v1.2 board. second, there does not seem to be any facing information on the board or in Eagle for IC8. not sure how i missed it while working on the board but i suppose mistakes are inevitable. anyways, about to try to pop out the IC and swap its facing to see if that helps.

EDIT 3: nope. won't power up now so i must've had it right to begin with. totally out of ideas here and my lack of electronics knowledge means it will likely be a long road to be able to navigate a schematic well enough to know what proper voltages should be at various points in the chain. any advice at all is totally welcome but barring that i think i'll just need to get another kit and try again, then revisit this one to see if i can repair it with things i've learned from the second go round.

TinyTrucks
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:12 pm
Location: Detroit

LP/Fold issue

Post by TinyTrucks » Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:54 am

Anyone have any issues with the LP/fold knob. Mine only seems to make any difference in the last 10% of its clockwise travel. The knob does not seems to take the module into LP mode at all, but has a wave shaping type effect between 4 and 5 o'clock. I've replaced the pot, triple checked solder joints, measured all resistors. Only think I changed was 2 incorrectly placed caps, C15 and C16. I had the caps rotated 90 degrees and gapping the wrong pads. Would the error with the caps have possibly harmed the DAC?

I've tried multiple versions of the firmware, updating through the .WAV method.

Anything else I can try here?

User avatar
saiteron
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:44 pm
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Contact:

Post by saiteron » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:39 pm

hey TinyTrucks, i actually had the same problem with all three trimpots in that row. only the last little bit of the knob seemed to do anything at all. unfortunately i screwed up the pads under one side of my microprocessor so it's out of comission but i ordered a second unit and will be getting to work on it in the next few days. i'll let you know if i have the same issue again after building. would love to get to the bottom of this.

User avatar
standudinski
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: USA

Post by standudinski » Mon Feb 25, 2019 10:36 pm

finishined mine, my first SMD project as well. burning the bootloader and firmware with a cheap USB ST-link went ok, i think. finishing installing the pots (NO ONE in US has any linear 10k trimmers in stock, had to order from the UK) and will post photos of the finished project when i get a knob for it. (forgot to order that! DOH!)

ImageImage
Stan
Last edited by standudinski on Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
standudinski
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: USA

Post by standudinski » Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:53 pm

saiteron wrote:hello all,

just got done with a build of uTides from a Synthcube kit and I'm completely baffled. i plugged it in and it powered on just fine but all the knobs aside from the main frequency knob do not seem to be functioning properly. i assumed this is because i need to calibrate it so i attempted to initiate the calibration procedure by long-pressing the mode button but nothing happens (it just changes modes as though i short-pressed the button instead). there is zero documentation available on the Synthcube site relating to the specific version/firmware i'm working with here and i cannot find any documentation anywhere regarding what this could indicate. i have read up on all three firmware versions (official, Parasites and Sheep) and none seem to reference any of the things i'm experiencing. the only thing the module has done properly is enter firmware update mode by holding the mode button at startup. i was able to successfully push v1.1 standard Tides firmware to it but it still does not function as expected. it is possible i have built it wrong as there are also no detailed build guides readily available anywhere and i'm experienced with builds but far from a pro, but a thorough inspection hasn't revealed anything in need of servicing and the spotty functionality and sparsity of documentation has me at my wit's end. anyone have any ideas on what might be wrong or how i can enter calibration mode?

EDIT: the level input doesn't seem to be working. this would likely explain its inability to enter calibration mode. Synthcube has recommended I reflow all the potentiometer and jack joints.

EDIT 2: after reflowing all solder joints for potentiometers and jacks i'm still having the same issues. i did a little more research and reading and some close comparison with the Eagle files and i've noticed a few things. first: the board i have is labeled Swirls/Lamb v1.1 but is actually a v1.2 board. second, there does not seem to be any facing information on the board or in Eagle for IC8. not sure how i missed it while working on the board but i suppose mistakes are inevitable. anyways, about to try to pop out the IC and swap its facing to see if that helps.

EDIT 3: nope. won't power up now so i must've had it right to begin with. totally out of ideas here and my lack of electronics knowledge means it will likely be a long road to be able to navigate a schematic well enough to know what proper voltages should be at various points in the chain. any advice at all is totally welcome but barring that i think i'll just need to get another kit and try again, then revisit this one to see if i can repair it with things i've learned from the second go round.
speaking of firmwares. have you tried loading Sheep on yours and check for functionality?

vespine
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:31 am
Location: melbourne
Contact:

Post by vespine » Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:59 am

so i have the synth cube kit with the v1.1 board


https://github.com/ElectricMist/Swirls

so the bom has R1, R11, R47, R48, R49, R57, R58
are supposed to be 10K Ohm

and the kit comes with that in the pack but there is no R1 or R11 on the board (confirmed against the brd file) and i do not see this discrepancy mentioned anywhere..
I'm continuing with the rest of the build.

vespine
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:31 am
Location: melbourne
Contact:

Post by vespine » Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:58 am

i was missing some more parts from the kit, namely the correct size of tl072, i've got that sorted now but the module isn't working quite right.

both buttons cycle green > off > red > off > green

the modes seem to work ok, i actually though it wasn't working until I realised "yellow" mode, the one that appears off on my unit, is the cycling mode and the other modes require a trigger. I've done some testing now and it all seems to be working right, but, for some reason, yellow doesn't display, which has me really stumped since yellow is just red and green together isn't it? I have built a rings with a very similar bi color led configuration...

vespine
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:31 am
Location: melbourne
Contact:

Post by vespine » Thu Jul 04, 2019 12:43 am

just realised there's 2 different versions of tides, i've been looking at the new one....

Sonic2ndtwelve
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:37 am

Re: Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

Post by Sonic2ndtwelve » Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:11 am

Hi,

I'm about to build the Swirls/Lamb module that I got from Pusherman, but don't have any experience installing firmware (this is my first go at it). I was wondering of anyone here would be kind enough to confirm what the process is. As I understand it, I build the module and install the firmware that is available on he MI website here: https://mutable-instruments.net/modules ... /#firmware , and this is done by playing an update file in to the module from my audio interface. I then go ahead and calibrate the module. Do I need to install any other software on the module using the 1.27mm pitch, 10 pin connector on the back of the module? If not, what is this connector for?

Sorry in advance for the dumb questions. I've built quite a few "normal" modules but never one where I have to install firmware.

Thanks,

Steve.

User avatar
KittenVillage
Common Wiggler
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Glenshaw, PA
Contact:

Re: Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

Post by KittenVillage » Mon Jun 08, 2020 9:29 am

Sonic2ndtwelve wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:11 am
As I understand it, I build the module and install the firmware that is available on he MI website here: https://mutable-instruments.net/modules ... /#firmware , and this is done by playing an update file in to the module from my audio interface. I then go ahead and calibrate the module. Do I need to install any other software on the module using the 1.27mm pitch, 10 pin connector on the back of the module? If not, what is this connector for?
You will need to install firmware using an ST-LINK V2. (There's a software link for the programming software for it, and you may need to upgrade the firmware from it.) There are other programmers, but this is the one most people will suggest.

You'll also want a JTAG 20 to 10 adapter, like this one.

Then you will also need to have have either a hex file with a bootloader (a 'combo hex') OR you should look at the mutable dev environment, which is on github. And provided you install the 3 things listed in the readme, in the order given, you should be able to follow the instructions in the dev enviro to compile and flash the tides firmware. Or compile a hex file.

You might be able to find a combo hex file out there if you look, and use the st-link software. But it's worth learning the mutable dev environment as the instructions Emilie have left are simple and spot on.

After all that you can use the Sheep wav file and load it per the Tides manual.


Eurorack is an exercise in delayed desire.

Sonic2ndtwelve
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:37 am

Re: Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

Post by Sonic2ndtwelve » Mon Jun 08, 2020 10:34 am

Hey, Thanks for the reply and for helping. I've made a few dozen modules but know next-to-nothing about programming and stuff so this is all new to me. I just thought I could download the Tides WAV file from the MI website and install it through the FM input but obviously not.

So, the process is:

1. Buy the STLink V2 & JTAG 20 to 10 adaptor.
2. Install Virtual Box, Virtual Box Extension pack and Vagrant (in that order).
3. Download the mutable dev environment and open it with the Vagrant file (stuff will be pulled from Github)
4. Compile some form of Firmware file to download to the modue.

Wow!! I've got a lot of learning to do. I'll let you know how I get on.

Thanks.

User avatar
KittenVillage
Common Wiggler
Posts: 185
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Glenshaw, PA
Contact:

Re: Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

Post by KittenVillage » Mon Jun 08, 2020 12:04 pm

Sonic2ndtwelve wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 10:34 am
Hey, Thanks for the reply and for helping. I've made a few dozen modules but know next-to-nothing about programming and stuff so this is all new to me. I just thought I could download the Tides WAV file from the MI website and install it through the FM input but obviously not.

So, the process is:

1. Buy the STLink V2 & JTAG 20 to 10 adaptor.
2. Install Virtual Box, Virtual Box Extension pack and Vagrant (in that order).
3. Download the mutable dev environment and open it with the Vagrant file (stuff will be pulled from Github)
4. Compile some form of Firmware file to download to the modue.

Wow!! I've got a lot of learning to do. I'll let you know how I get on.

Thanks.
1 - yes
2 - yes. Or find a combo hex file for tides online and use the st-link software to flash that. But better to just install those and compile it yourself. It's pretty simple.
3 - yes, it does take 15 minutes or so to set up the first time. The virtualbox extension will tie up your USB port, so you can't switch over to the st-link software without shutting it all down with VAGRANT HALT. (In the case you want to flash the hex it build on your own. It'll create a build folder I believe or something like that.)
4 - The dev environment will flash the hex it builds for you, just follow instructions on the github.

Oh, you may want to look into tides parasite which is another alternate firmware.


Eurorack is an exercise in delayed desire.

Sonic2ndtwelve
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 4:37 am

Re: Swirls/Lamb (8hp Tides/Sheep)

Post by Sonic2ndtwelve » Wed Jun 10, 2020 10:27 am

KittenVillage wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 12:04 pm
Sonic2ndtwelve wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 10:34 am
Hey, Thanks for the reply and for helping. I've made a few dozen modules but know next-to-nothing about programming and stuff so this is all new to me. I just thought I could download the Tides WAV file from the MI website and install it through the FM input but obviously not.

So, the process is:

1. Buy the STLink V2 & JTAG 20 to 10 adaptor.
2. Install Virtual Box, Virtual Box Extension pack and Vagrant (in that order).
3. Download the mutable dev environment and open it with the Vagrant file (stuff will be pulled from Github)
4. Compile some form of Firmware file to download to the modue.

Wow!! I've got a lot of learning to do. I'll let you know how I get on.

Thanks.
1 - yes
2 - yes. Or find a combo hex file for tides online and use the st-link software to flash that. But better to just install those and compile it yourself. It's pretty simple.
3 - yes, it does take 15 minutes or so to set up the first time. The virtualbox extension will tie up your USB port, so you can't switch over to the st-link software without shutting it all down with VAGRANT HALT. (In the case you want to flash the hex it build on your own. It'll create a build folder I believe or something like that.)
4 - The dev environment will flash the hex it builds for you, just follow instructions on the github.

Oh, you may want to look into tides parasite which is another alternate firmware.

Hey, Thanks for the info. Been looking in to the Dev Env and it looks like something I'll have to try out. Wish me luck and I'll let you know how I get on. Cheers.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”