FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 

ES-8 with Silent Way Suite
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Expert Sleepers  
Author ES-8 with Silent Way Suite
I recently installed the hardware via USB 3 on a Mac Mini Late 2014 3 GHz Intel Core i7 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, High Sierra 10.13.1 (17B1003), Ableton Live Suite 9.7.5, Aggregate device (Focusrite LS56 + ES-8).

After few attempts with the demo I purchased the licence.

I am just starting to learn how to use some external voltages and translate them into MIDI data, I will study the opposite path (MIDI to CV) later.

I assumed not to need further I/O audio interfaces when the ES-8 is installed: raw voltages straight into the 4 mini jack inputs will be delivered directly into the respective Live 9 tracks.

I also assumed that voltages never have to be routed to any other audio interface outputs but the ES-8 mini jack outs, in order to prevent possible damages..: audio tracks outputs always set to “sends only” and sends set to off (zero).

I also assumed that specific plug-ins should be used in the host tracks in order to detect/interpret/translate the actual voltage into the desired MIDI data: one plug in for incoming gates to become MIDI notes On/Off, another plug-in to translate ribbon pressure into MIDI CC expression and so on for velocity... It's rather confusing me, I have to admit.

I found that the manual doesn't propose the plug-ins description according to the 2 main path (CV to MIDI, MIDI to CV)