MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Favorite Ableton controller? Live VS studio use?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author Favorite Ableton controller? Live VS studio use?
Sinamsis
Question to all you Ableton users. I've been using Live for a few years now. After a year or two, I picked up a Push. Honestly, I rarely use it as I feel like it doesn't completely free me from the computer screen. I've kept it because I use it's more basic functions (transport, occasionally tweaking volume on tracks, drum rack finger drumming) but I just could never bring myself to be a power user. In general, I prefer playing a keyboard, or an MPC for studio production. I bought an MPC Live a while back thinking it would be the key for me playing out. But the more I think about it, the more I think Ableton and a laptop are the answer. I want to work on a set using an Analog Keys, Digitakt and Analog Rytm along with some controller for Ableton. I'm still considering bringing the MPC, but I'm leaning against it. The Elektron gear is all Overbridge enabled, and hopefully I could use that for all the audio, have Ableton for additional samples, or creating keygroup samples for synths I don't want to take out of the studio because they're too expensive or too big (modular, Andromeda, Modal 002, Prophet 12). Also for audio processing (I may even use a UAD Satellite) and for arranging/moving through the set quickly and efficiently. So here's my question:

Push 2 or APC40 mk II? Or both? I think the immediacy of the APC40 would give the feel of having a mixer without having to lug another thing with me. I'm not sure if the Push2 would much to the live aspect, as I don't think I'll "play" much into it, I'd be more likely to use the AK to play any samples.