MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

So what is the Fender Jazz du jour?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author So what is the Fender Jazz du jour?
calaveras
So yeah, I'm actually a bassist, despite owning like 10 synths and 2 basses.
Decided it's time to cave in and finally get a Fender style bass after cursing them for the last several decades.
Been looking around and cannot find any of the cool Jazz style basses I was seeing a few years ago. Seems Fender Japan is no longer?

Curious what is the Fender heads consensus is on the current 'It bass'.

My wish list for a JB;
white, blue or clear.
matching headstock would be nice.
Like them bound and blocky necks.
Part of me wants the stamped metal covers, though I'd probably take them off eventually.

Don't care about 60's vs 70's pickup placement much.
Kinda leaning passive, but not with much conviction.
Not wedded to 'Fender' on the headstock.

Basically I'd be all over the Adam Clayton if it wasn't such lame colors, so expensive and a sig model for an unremarkable bassist.
Kent
The new Justin Meldal-Johnson bass appears to be might sweet.
calaveras
I'm ideologically opposed to 'reliced' basses.
Strange that his sig model is a mustang. I've mostly seen him with Jazz and P basses.
commodorejohn
Dunno how fancy or cheap you want to go, but honestly I've been thoroughly pleased with my SX Andromeda JB clone. One-piece ash body, one-piece maple neck, nice chunky bridge and good solid tuners. Threw on a pair of Seymour-Duncan Apollo pickups and a set of Rotosound monel flatwounds and it's pretty damn solid, for less than $600 all told.
Jamnuska
After watching a bunch of reviews on Fenders I bought a Squire. Cheap, cheerful and a pretty nice Jazz in maple.