MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Sidechaining
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques  
Author Sidechaining
rishin
Hey all,

I'm new to the whole mixing shindig, and I recently learned about side-chain compression. It seems like a really effective resource in letting all your sonic elements breath a little. I was wondering if 'side-chaining' is used in settings other than compression. Like do traditional DAW's allow the advent of some audio signal to trigger EQ, reverb, or any other processor aside from a compressor, on some other track? Could we even get more complex and have say a key change of some melodic element on one track trigger a processing unit on another track?

Thanks in advance,
Funky40
rishin wrote:
Like do traditional DAW's allow the advent of some audio signal to trigger EQ, reverb, or any other processor aside from a compressor, on some other track?

One possible key here would be to have a Envelope follower VST (or M4L device in case you are working with Live+MaxforLive) or a Reaktor patch for reaktor or ?
you´d extract with those a modulation envelope based on the amplitude of your signal. then map it as a controller to your desired destination.
anything other than envelope followers in regards to the OPs query ?
voicedrifter
Yep, what he said ^^^^

Envelope followers. Sky's the limit, get jiggy with it.
PhineasFreak
try inverse sidechaining gates - you can do stuff like remove beats etc!
maaaks
That kind of use case is where Bitwig really shines IMHO. Most if not all DAWs have some kind of side-chain ability built in, but Bitwig is super flexible about what you can modulate with the generated control signal.
ddyenn59
PhineasFreak wrote:
try inverse sidechaining gates - you can do stuff like remove beats etc!