MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Ambient drone rack
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Ambient drone rack
bad_algorithm
Another new rack thread Guinness ftw! very frustrating

I recently started this rabbit hole after pre-ordering a Folktek Mescaline and am starting to expand and looking for some input.

So I have the following in a TipTop Mantis:

Make Noise Pressure Points
Make Noise Brains
Folktek Mesacline

and I think I want to get here:

(basically add a Maths, LxD, Function, Folktek Altar, and maybe a Braids)

I am still very new to Eurorack so I am doubting myself initially. I mainly want this for drone and ambient, but also want to be able to make some trip-hop inspired beats and Industrial from time-to-time.

I am not 100% sold on the Folktek Altar as I can wait for the pedal version and save space in the rack. Any feedback greatly appreciated.
AW198
Can mescaline be standalone? In which case you should take it out of the case because it's using up so much hp. I don't remember if it is off the top of my head so forgive me if I'm wrong.

Maths is a good shout, as always.

For drone and ambient stuff the cliche is Rings>Clouds, so personally I wouldn't recommend either, but you might want a delay module. After that get lots of modulation (Batumi, Intellijel Quadra, Wogglebug for randomness, etc), plenty of utilities to accompany them (VCAs, attenuverters, mixers, multiples) and make sure you have a reverb/dense delay of some description - a guitar pedal will give you more for the same price as a eurorack module.