problem with Blacet QuadVCA

Blacet, Metalbox, Synthasonic, PAiA and the rest.... a frac frenzy!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
elemental
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:08 am
Location: Bristol UK

problem with Blacet QuadVCA

Post by elemental » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:08 am

I recently got a Quad VCA for my small but growing Frac rack.
I think there might be a problem though - whenever I put a jack into one of the CV inputs the corresponding channel becomes almost silent. CV seems to have no effect. IT seems to work fine as a mixer though.. Is there something I might have missed or should I contact Mr Blacet?

Thx

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3742
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:16 am

Stock units expect 10v to open fully.
What kind of CV are you sending it?

elemental
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:08 am
Location: Bristol UK

Post by elemental » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:22 am

so far, LFO from an Analogue Systems LFO, and I think also Plan B model 10 envelope. I don't know if those send max of 10v CV.
I'm gonna have a play again tonight ... really wanna get some panning sounds going on !!

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3742
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:40 am

I think most of the Euro stuff maxes out at 5v.

You can mod the VCA Quad Mix to 5v specs if you want.
There are instructions in the manual if you bought it as a kit.

There is another option.
The 4th channel of the VCA Quad Mix has up to 10x gain.
You could use this to boost the CV that you are sending to on of the other VCAs.

User avatar
Cybananna
Funniest Guy
Posts: 2838
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 10:23 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Post by Cybananna » Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:45 am

yep, I have a similar setup. it's functioning right. as stated above, you will need to amplify the signal to use the VCA, mod the QVCA, or buy a blacet envelope...

elemental
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 481
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:08 am
Location: Bristol UK

Post by elemental » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:59 am

ok, thanks for your help guys, glad its not bruk'd!

I'll try amplifying the cv, and have a look at the manual see if its easy to mod post-build (it was a pre-built module... DIY is still somewhere in the near future!!!)

User avatar
consumed
International Filter Conspiracy
Posts: 3717
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 1:38 pm
Location: nor cal

Post by consumed » Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:14 pm

i built my quadvca for 5v operation. it requires a few resistor changes and an x-acto knife to cut some tracks. interesting: if you make the change but feed the quad vca more than 5v the signal overdrives and gives some nice crunchiness.

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:31 pm

M10 EG has the very unusual output of 8v.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

Post Reply

Return to “Fractional Rack Modules”