MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Eurorack Sequencer - Techno Leads
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author Eurorack Sequencer - Techno Leads
Steverido
Hi Guys,

I am just getting into Modular and was wondering what you would recommned as a sequencer (Eurorack) for making interesting Techno leads. Or Percussive Techno stuff for that matter.

I have just got the Abstract Data Octocontroller too.
lasesentaysiete
turing machine is fast & fun for that thumbs up
Tumulishroomaroom
I'm using a Voltage Block. It's not incredible if you want to write a full fledged long melody but works perfectly for short leads (which you can tweak as well with the in regards of steps number, sequence direction and arp). It's of course incredible for modulation.

For more percussive stuff I really like to trigger enveloppes (say a Quadra) with a Numeric Repetitor and/or a Knights Gallop (which is way more hands on). You can quickly get great rhythmic techno patterns without melodies with this when you use the enveloppe to modulate parameters around your modular (oscillators timbre, filter cutoff etc...)
Steverido
lasesentaysiete wrote:
turing machine is fast & fun for that thumbs up

Is that the Music Thing Modular? There is a version 1 & 2.
Tumulishroomaroom
That's the one. You'll also need a quantizer if you go with this as it does not output quantized cv. Mk2 is the most recent one. There's also the Mimetic Sequent by Noise Engineering that is very interesting and close to the principles of the Turing machine.
Steverido
Has anyone got experience of the Kilpatrick K-4815 sequencer?
mattsb
2HP TM + uScale are my go to in the vein of what has been discussed so far.

But I'm surprised no-one has mentioned Metropolis yet.
euromorcego
mattsb wrote: