Mu in rack 19"

Moog, Synthesizers.com, MOTM, Modcan, Moon and others..... Go big!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Mu in rack 19"

Post by Mercutio » Mon Jul 26, 2010 2:42 am

Hi,

I'm new in the modular world.

I already have a Redsquare and an Ebbe und Flut but they asking for sisters and brothers.

They are placed in a rack stand.

I'm looking for a little system Mos-Lab/dotcom. (2 * 8U).

It's ok for the motherboard but where can i find a 19"cases in MU format for 1* 8U or 2 * 8U ?

Cheers

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:22 am

do you want to put them all in the same case?
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:39 am

If you need it to be portable, or at least like that sort of look even if you don't take it out live :mrgreen: I HIGHLY recommend the EWI Tourcase racks from Audiopile, only $105 to $125 each:
http://www.audiopile.net/products/Cases ... page.shtml

I have 6U, 10U and 12U versions of their 10" deep racks. Keep in mind that you will also need to get rack frames from Synthesizers.com for $65 each: http://www.synthesizers.com/cabinets.html

Picture of most of my racks at Saturday's PNW Synth Gathering:
Image

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:57 am

OH! And MOS-LAB sells racks to hold 8 or 16 U's worth of modules (no front cover I believe):
http://www.mos-lab.com/modules/portable ... %20ENG.htm

http://www.mos-lab.com/modules/portable ... %20ENG.htm


And COTK has racks that hold 16U worth of standard modules and one row of half sized modules (only Moog and COTK made/make these hald sized modules . . maybe Polyfusion too?)
http://www.cluboftheknobs.com/portables.html


Some people on the forum have used Nice Racks i think:
http://www.nice-racks.com/Nice_Racks_St ... space.html

Mr. Suit 'n Tie Guy has some larger racks:
http://www.stgsoundlabs.com/products/cabinet_mu.htm
but he also sells tapped rails so if you are making your own rack or modifying some existing rack, the rails will make it easy and nicer!:
http://www.stgsoundlabs.com/products/rails_mu.htm

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:45 am

Thanks for response.

Nice set-up johnLrice.

In fact, i want to put the modular in this :

http://www.staggmusic.com/products/prod ... oneid=2828

So i'm looking for this
19" Rack-Mountable Cases http://www.doepfer.de/a100_cases_e.htm but in MU format


I know the rack rails of STG and dotcom but don't have cases

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 5:02 am

You mean like these? (I forgetted about them till now :hihi: ) The look nice but are not inexpensive!

http://www.noisebug.net/site/effects/index.cfm?ID=175
Image

http://www.noisebug.net/site/effects/index.cfm?ID=176
Image


Noisebug is an excellent outfit to deal with by the way! :tu:

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 5:11 am

IMOPRTANT! I should have mentioned that those Moon racks will only work for modules by Moon Modular and probably most, if not all, of the offerings by Synthesizers.com, Club Of The Knobs and Grove Audio.

Many, if not all, of the Mos-Lab modules will be too deep to fit! STG Soundlabs modules may not fit either.

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 5:41 am

those Moon cabinets will ONLY work with Moon modules.

i asked Chuck to update the site to explain this but i don't know if he has.
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:15 am

suitandtieguy wrote:those Moon cabinets will ONLY work with Moon modules.
Why is that? :despair:

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:39 am

they only have Moon connectors, only supply 15/-15, and are too shallow for anything other than Moon and Synthesizers.com modules.

Synthesizers.com modules don't use that power connector, and need a 5v rail.

the logical conclusion is that the cabinets only work with Moon modules.
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
rafe127
classy undercarriage
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:25 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Post by rafe127 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:53 am

There is also this available:

http://synthesizers.com/cabinets.html#qcr8

Image

Image

I also happen to have one for sale, PM me if interested.

User avatar
rafe127
classy undercarriage
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:25 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Post by rafe127 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:54 am

Obviously, though, this does not provide power, and may not be ideal for an unenclosed rack system.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:55 am

suitandtieguy wrote:they only have Moon connectors, only supply 15/-15, and are too shallow for anything other than Moon and Synthesizers.com modules.

Synthesizers.com modules don't use that power connector, and need a 5v rail.

the logical conclusion is that the cabinets only work with Moon modules.
COTK uses that same 14 pin connector. You can order their modules with either the 14 pin IDC header (what ever it's called) or the DotCom style MTA .100 header. And COTK modules are shallow enough to fit. :roll:

The picture of the racks you sell show NO power connector or supply at all
so the "logical" conclusion would be that your racks work with NO modules at all? :roll: :roll:

Sure, to run a bunch of the DotCom modules that don't require +5v (not all do!) in the Moon racks you'd need a bunch of adapter cables or . . . a distro board with a bunch of DotCom MTA .100 headers on it, too bad no one makes one . . . OH SHIT, wait a minute . . . STG Soundlabs sells a nice looking one . . what the fuck was I thinking! :roll: :roll: :roll:

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:09 am

It's over what i look. Thanks.

They said

"The M500 double tier case perfectly matches the requirements of the Moon Modular modules ( +15V and -15V ) and are able to power, with additional adapters, modules from synthesizers.com/Moog/Curetronic/Mos-Lab/etc. An external 110v power supply is included."


Curiuosly, i don't see this reference on the site http://www.lunar-iexperience.com/home.html

i will ask to them to the availability in europe (Moon modular comes from germany) and what about the deepness

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:23 am

Mercutio wrote: Curiuosly, i don't see this reference on the site http://www.lunar-iexperience.com/home.html

i will ask to them to the availability in europe (Moon modular comes from germany) and what about the deepness
They have a depth of 4 1/4".

Unfortunately, they aren't available in Europe as far as I know. I talked to Gert from Moon about this and he said it has something to do with the law/regulations in Germany where you have to be a specific type of engineer to design/build AC devices. So, they have them built in the USA and only sell them here, or something like that! Weird, I know! :despair:

Too bad they don't just sell the metal frames without all the power comonents, I think people would but them!

You should contact Moon anyways and see what they can do for you. Or you could order from the U.S. I guess?

Best of luck!

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:28 am

JohnLRice wrote:The picture of the racks you sell show NO power connector or supply at all so the "logical" conclusion would be that your racks work with NO modules at all? :roll: :roll:
You caught me. I was secretly hoping people would buy my cabinets thinking the tung oil finish itself would power any modules through convection alone. Looks like I need a new business plan.

Btw, this post was intended to be humor.
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

User avatar
slovo
Care Bear of Fury
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 10:23 am
Location: HK

Post by slovo » Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:35 am

hehe, I love that STGuy knows when to take some criticism. but thanks for all the links, JLR... as always, I should say! :hail: Those MOSLAB cases look really nice,and reasonably priced for this market. Anyone have any experience with one? How's the PSU? Build quality?
(ignatius) "it's like Point Break meets Schindler's List"
AIRSEA - Creepy noises to protest air pollution

User avatar
sduck
experimental use of gravity
Posts: 13777
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Vortepexaion, TN, USA

Post by sduck » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:55 am

suitandtieguy wrote:I was secretly hoping people would buy my cabinets thinking the tung oil finish itself would power any modules through convection alone. Looks like I need a new business plan.
Sig worthy!
flickr cloud of sound touyube NOT A MODERATOR ANYMORE

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:50 am

suitandtieguy wrote:I was secretly hoping people would buy my cabinets thinking the tung oil finish itself would power any modules through convection alone. Looks like I need a new business plan.
If you laced the tung oil with certain other 'chemicals' people might just hear their modules working when they aren't! :mrgreen:

User avatar
suitandtieguy
Hammond King
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:50 pm
Location: Chillicothe IL USA

Post by suitandtieguy » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:59 am

o shit i shouldn'ta let those toads escape!
http://suitandtieguy.com
http://stgsoundlabs.com
http://knobcon.com
suboptimal wrote:... if it's music you want to make with your modular, STG should be in your system.

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:53 am

here the response of lunar experience :

"
the racks are quite shallow and I do pretty much guess that MosLab modules will not fit into them.

Power connectors are Moon ones. They are similar to Cotk but our modules do use +- 15volts.

Prices (incl. VAT) are 359€ (R1M) and 489€ (R2M).

We typically sell them only in combination with our modules. This being the reason to not advertise them "actively".
...
"

Mercutio
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Mercutio » Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:49 am

Here,

i build my rails.

(Cost : 3$)

Image

User avatar
giorgio
NITE MIND
Posts: 2459
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:42 pm
Location: BRAND NEW YORK

Post by giorgio » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:34 am

i like how you have mounted your rails behind the rack rails so that the modules are flush with the rest of the rack, instead of what i seem to usually see, which becomes layers of rails and mounting hardware.
▲✌♡✂☃☂☁☀☻☹☺♢✄✐☒☠☣☢☤☎✇✈✖▼

User avatar
coyoteous
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1068
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: OK

Post by coyoteous » Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:05 pm

Now I'm the one kicking an old thread (again)... I have a deal locked in for one of these two tier V1s, but not yet in hand (from Reverb and also on ebay for those of you playing the home game).

Kind of a spurge for me, but like they say in the commercial, "I saw it and just had to have it!" (no power supply, though)

Before I write to Gert, does anyone know/remember what power they use?

It seems to have a MIDI-style 5-pin DIN on the back, which harkens meanwell to me... I have some that are +5 & +/-15 with that kind of connector that might even be the right pinout.

Maybe there are meanwell (or that style) that don't have the +5, or Moon just didn't use it on these, or?

Anyway, details on intended usage to follow.

Image
Shark, jumped.

JohnLRice

Post by JohnLRice » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:26 pm

If you aren't going to be putting mostly Moon and COTK modules into that case it might be easier to just replace the distribution board with a DotCom style distro or a Synthesizers.com harness?

The input to that rack was likely +-15v since Moon and COTK just put a +5v regulator on any modules that needs +5v.

Is the input connector a 180 degree 5 pin DIN like MIDI uses or is it one of the "other kind" that looks almost identical to a MIDI connector but there may be more or less pins and sometimes are farther apart/at different angles?
Image

The connectors Synthesizers.com and Analog Craftsman use for power input are 240 degree 6 pin DIN but I have no idea what Moon used on those original cases. :hmm:

Post Reply

Return to “5U Format Modules”