MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Max For Live Hardware host?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Max For Live Hardware host?
hageir
Yo,

is there anything out there that could be a standalone (small package) host for a m4l plugin?

This is one of the best sequencers I've found in the software realm (due to the user definable 'ticks' / PPQN).

ML-185
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=75

Just wondering if it's possible to have this standalone somehow?

Any ideas?

The Novation LaunchControl might be usable as a controller for it..

*edit*
a quick read about stuff related to this makes me realize that it might be best to write the program from scratch.. I’m a novice on python, or any programming (I know only HTML, CSS and JavaScript hehe) but this should be a moderately hard beginner’s project... Raspberry or Arduino host perhaps?
depth of field
Max For Live devices are meant and designed to be used with Ableton Live.
As far as I know the only other way to use a Max For Live device outside of Ableton Live is directly in Max/MSP.
hageir
depth of field wrote:
Max For Live devices are meant and designed to be used with Ableton Live.
As far as I know the only other way to use a Max For Live device outside of Ableton Live is directly in Max/MSP.

Yeah I guess the only way is to write this from scratch and make it into a software that a Raspberry Pi runs or something.. I’ll look into it.

Of course the best way would be building this analog (maybe with an IC/CPU) but seeing how cheap those little computers are, it would be $100 (Raspberry Pi mini thang + cheap controller) vs. $500 (Eurorack or similar, analog/physical; RYK 185 or Intellijel Metropolis)

Y’dig where I’m going with this?
hageir