MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Practice Amp/Speaker Combo For Bass
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author Practice Amp/Speaker Combo For Bass
Reality Checkpoint
I have just picked up a P Bass as for years I have wanted to learn to play the bass.

Has anyone got recommendations for good basic setup amp/speaker combo? It does not have to be powerful or loud.
slam
I would look for a used combo on craigslist. Or New probably a Fender Rumble
tony d
I started playing Bass about 2 years ago, the gear lust side of me really wanted to buy a nice setup because i appreciate quality in sound but the logical side of me decided on the Fender Rumble because it was cheap and i didn't really want to regret putting a bunch of money into something i honestly didn't know if i would stick with. Well here we are 2 years later and i still use this amp, mostly i use the headphone output on it so i don't drive my family nuts. It is totally sufficient for me, but i don't play with bands still or play out at all so for me it is fine. Honestly it's not a nice or good sounding amp but it does the job for practicing.
I guess the important take away for me is i am still very much learning how to play this instrument and so the focus isn't really on the sound quality of the gear like it is with my synths,monitors,outboard,processors etc. but just learning how to play, becoming comfortable with the instrument and learning how to get the tone i desire through technique.
Just some thoughts that may help you decide on what kind of money you want to invest right off the bat, but to answer your question directly i would second the Fender Rumble suggestion.
Zube