MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Information
Happy holidays! Please see the year-end funding drive post in the Announcements subforum. Thanks and all my love to you beautiful people.

COTK vs MOS LAB vcos?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
Author COTK vs MOS LAB vcos?
Rex Coil 7
Happy Flour Tortilla Day to ya's! I need some help before I spend money and begin efforts to move forward on something that the more informed and experienced members within the 5U clan are very well versed in. This post is long and wordy, but this topic generates a lot of questions ... questions that require background and intended use information to better address. Here we go ....

I'm a fairly serious novice when it comes to the subtleties and nuances of the finer VCOs when creating the old R.A. Moog type VCO sounds. I'm aware there is more to it than simply stuffing a synth cabinet with Moog design VCO circuits (such as gain structure, VCA choices, and use of the indispensable CP3 mixer circuit). But I'm also aware that use of the "right" VCOs ads a profound distinction. I am now a believer.

I've no intention of replacing my Dot Com VCOs in my normalized synth project. However, I'm already beginning the initial thought processes for designing another synth voice that will make use of more exacting R.A. Moog Modular VCOs. I reckon I'll need just two VCOs, along with a well chosen VCO mixer (ahem ... CP3 ... cough), and a LP+HP filter array, all piped outbound via a VCA that's Moog friendly.