MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

SV -1 vs Mother 32?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author SV -1 vs Mother 32?
idbk
Hi all,
As a complete beginner to the modular world I red some recommendations for starting with a semi modular synth.
I'm having hard time to decide between those two.
Any suggestions?
l1fef0rm
I had the SV-1, chose it over the Mother 32. I eventually sold the SV-1 and picked up a MakeNoise 0-Coast, reason, I wanted to. The only way to know for sure is to get some hands on time. If you have a local shop, that is the best way. Unfortunately, where I live, there aren't any shops that care about electronic music so I had to buy pretty much blind. I like the 0-coast quite a lot, the SV-1 sounded a bit "sterile" to me, really didn't like it. I can't speak for the Mother from use but I do know it sounds really good. Lastly, I'm new here and this is my first post, so take that for what it is. Hope this helped. Just remember, a semi modular isn't necessarily required. You can pick the right modules and have a proper setup that does the same type of thing. Syncing other synths and so forth is also a great option. If you do that, I would recommend getting something like the Doepfer A-119 Ext. In, essential module for getting other gear integrated into your rig (not a pro so there could be better choices but the A-119 works well and is cheap). Again, I am not a professional, so take my advice with a grain of salt. Ultimately, it comes down to what you think sounds the best and has a workflow you are comfortable with.

Oh yeah! There is that new Behringer Neutron semi-modular thing coming soon or out now? Its under $300 and I know nothing about it. Hope I could help. smile
emilng