MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

What is a composition?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next [all]
Author What is a composition?
joejoejoejoe
Though I've been making music on synths and computers for several years now, I still have trouble answering the question about just what is an electronic composition. I come from a classical music background and when I think "composition" I still think of some kind of sonata form and some sort of fixed instrumentation. Without constraints on the thematic and timbral forces, music often seems directionless and arbitrary. How can music made with electronic means and recorded to some sort of permanent medium (hard drive, tape, cd, whatever) retain the thematic and timbral integrity of, say, a string quartet by Schubert or an orchestral piece by Messiaen?

Or is an electronic composition more concerned with mood? Or groove? Or gesture? Or "concept"? Etc. What do YOU think makes an electronic composition a unified artistic statement and not just an expression of one's technical ability and "musical feeling"?
ndkent
I'd say electronics enable one to break the restraints that may be imposed on music making. Now one may counter that maybe restraints are a good thing but that's probably best for the individual to determine.

Mention of Form makes me think of Satie whom I guess was badgered by criticism of his music not falling into traditional compositional forms so he countered by making a set that rather than being in say a Sonata form was "In the Shape of a Pear"

Personally I do see a difference between noodling/tweaking/trying out stuff and something recorded or performed that demonstrates what was discovered by the former. That's the point I think is a composition.