MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

The Psychological Effects Of Modular(?)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author The Psychological Effects Of Modular(?)
userfriendly
Hi peoples.

I'm wondering what you guys think about the possible psychological repercussions of modular synthesis? Or any experimental synthesis for that matter.

I am new to the eurorack thing. I've just finished filling a 12u 104 rack...And I only just started about 8 months or so ago. I am certainly moving wayyyy too fast... But it seems like everyone kind of finds there own path with this sort of thing. Some of us start small and learn allllll the things about the modules that we have, and some of us build a monster and then poke it to see what it does. I would say I am more in the latter category. Which I am very happy with because I got into this to liven up my musical thoughts as so to speak.

ANYWAY, it seems to me like modular has very strong roots with both ambient and experimental music. It seems to me that when you get started the easiest and most interesting thing to do is to make wack ass, out of this world noises. Especially noises with darker undertones. Screechy, droney, thumpy, dark and uncomfortable sounds...that have loose rhythms or completely chaotic sonic births. I know for a fact that I am not the only one that has sat there staring at a patch and feeling like I am hearing something that I shouldn't be hearing. But its amazing.