MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Will I always feel behind?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Will I always feel behind?
JoshuaTSP
The modular world moves so quickly!

Will I ever feel like I've caught up?
I can't keep up!

hmmm.....
wavecircle
What exactly are you trying to keep up with?
Grumble
There's only one way to keep up: design and build yourself
gimber
Are you running a showroom or building an instrument?
JoshuaTSP
wavecircle wrote:

Modules and technique.

I'm fairly new to all of this....so that's probably some of the reason I feel overwhelmed.

There are so many existing modules to research and learn about......it also feels like new modules are released every day. Some seem so complicated that I'd never understand them or how to use them. Moves so fast.

It would be nice to get to a point where I could research a module and get an understanding of how it functions. Currently it's like trying to read a wall of ancient hieroglyphics when I look at some modules.
JoshuaTSP
gimber wrote:

building. d'oh! I get it.
lisa
You don’t have to keep up. Get fun modules and use them, then repeat. If you never catch up, the fun will be forever! thumbs up
gimber
JoshuaTSP wrote:
gimber wrote:

building. d'oh! I get it.

If you're getting started, all the new modules coming out works to your advantage: there are loads of older modules getting sold off for cheap, and are just as valid musically.
Futuresound
At some point, your focus will switch from modules to process or writing. It takes a while, but you'll get to a point where you can see most modules are just variations on functions you already have or can patch. Not that there aren't cool new modules, but you will realize you don't need them all smile