MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Total modular noob - some questions
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Total modular noob - some questions
Mr D
Hi folks,

I'm a complete beginner with modular, although i have some production / studio experience.

I'm thinking of putting together a modest modular system, just for fun really, to see what this modular stuff is all about.

So i have a few noobish questions.

1) Eurorack modules and other modular systems take their power from the power-supply built into the case, right? Can you basically buy any case and fill it with any (compatible) modules, or is there more to it then that? Any pit-falls i need to be aware of with regard to power supply issues?

2) Any modular system can hook up to any other system, because they communicate via control voltages, right? So i could put together a Macbeth 5U system, and use that together with a Eurorack system, right?
Or are there some systems that are incompatible?

3) I'm liking the look and sound of Macbeth stuff. But apart from that, could someone suggest a small basic system that would get me off the ground? Say to a maximum budget of 2000 euro, including case? Eurorack, 5U, or whatever. I guess for starters i'm only interested in basic synthesis, so no sampling or other exotic stuff

4) what about Polyphonic synth stuff? Is that doable with modular, or is it just to much hassle and you're better off just getting a dedicated polysynth? If not, any suggested products in this regard?

5) Where is a good / reputable place to buy in the E.U.? In in the Netherlands.

I guess that's it for now, thanks (hopefully) in advance for any wisdom!
Keltie
Check the stickied posts in the various fora. You will find answers to many of your questions there.