Hexinverter Mutant Brain

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

User avatar
soundslikejoe
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 682
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:31 pm
Location: South of NYC, East of LA

Hexinverter Mutant Brain

Post by soundslikejoe » Sun May 06, 2018 7:57 pm

There are lots of Midi-CV modules out. This one seems especially good for anyone interested in sequencing drum triggers on the cheap. Priced at less than $199 USD (maybe even just $169) ... for 4 CV and 12 Gate/Clock outputs. Thinking I might try this paired with Octatrack. Seems to match. Two channels for Bass or Synth pitch and mod. Eight channels for triggers/gates. Plus four more channels for Clock, Transport, and such.

[video][/video]


[video][/video]

kwaidan
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1686
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:14 pm

Post by kwaidan » Sun May 06, 2018 8:18 pm

It actually looks like a better deal for 4 voice poly.

User avatar
starthief
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3756
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:39 am
Location: St Louis, MO
Contact:

Post by starthief » Sun May 06, 2018 8:23 pm

It's basically CV.OCD in a module, with some handy extra LEDs. Which isn't a bad thing at all :)
"music... a weird bunch of sounds that had no point but made things feel a little better"

starthief.bandcamp.comstarthief.netModularGrid

DMR
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:05 pm

Post by DMR » Sun May 06, 2018 8:29 pm

What is the resolution of the DAC for the CV outputs?

User avatar
soundslikejoe
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 682
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:31 pm
Location: South of NYC, East of LA

Post by soundslikejoe » Sun May 06, 2018 8:33 pm

DMR wrote:What is the resolution of the DAC for the CV outputs?
CV output resolution: 12bits (V/oct or V/Hz)
Only info I've seen (from manual).

RussiaZero23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 314
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:53 am
Location: Clearwater ID 83552

Post by RussiaZero23 » Mon May 07, 2018 2:46 pm

@ $169 usd Ill take 2 please.

It is cheaper then my alternative plan and gives me more. I am on the waiting list now and looking into this very closely. I just wish I could try it before buying.

User avatar
CF3
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3017
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by CF3 » Mon May 07, 2018 3:59 pm

Been waiting on a D-MUX expander for my Cirklon for YEARS.... this will definitely hold me over, and price is nice. Might get two!

uebl
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:09 pm
Location: Germany

Post by uebl » Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:01 am

starthief wrote:It's basically CV.OCD in a module, with some handy extra LEDs. Which isn't a bad thing at all :)
The SysEx editor is almost identical. The CV.OCD is open source, mh?

User avatar
auxein
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 4:20 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by auxein » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:33 am

i'm planning on replacing yarns with this

User avatar
bradpickapiper
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 11:59 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by bradpickapiper » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:30 am

I just ordered a CV.OCD. seems a bit cheaper and saves on HP.
anyone else enjoying theirs?

uebl
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:09 pm
Location: Germany

Post by uebl » Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:47 am

Yes, I’ve got a CV.OCD - it does what it says. I might get a Mutant Brain nevertheless to keep the setup “simpler”, especially when transporting the case.

efexx
Common Wiggler
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:53 pm

Post by efexx » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:25 am

Planning to use it with my Elektron Digitone. Should be the Ultimate sequencer solution.

User avatar
SCOOBA_TANK
Common Wiggler
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:42 am
Location: WęSTüRñMã

Post by SCOOBA_TANK » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:03 am

I'm wondering if anyone has snagged one of these yet? I see that Detroit Modular has them in stock. I'm debating changing around my set-up a bit and adding in a Digitakt. I know BoBeats did a good overview of integrating the two, so I know it won't be an issue. Just wanted to know if there was any real world feedback on this as a main midi integration module. And this would be my first venture into integrating midi into my system. Thanks in advance!

User avatar
LTodd
Common Wiggler
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:40 am

Post by LTodd » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:44 pm

SCOOBA_TANK wrote:I'm wondering if anyone has snagged one of these yet? I see that Detroit Modular has them in stock. I'm debating changing around my set-up a bit and adding in a Digitakt. I know BoBeats did a good overview of integrating the two, so I know it won't be an issue. Just wanted to know if there was any real world feedback on this as a main midi integration module. And this would be my first venture into integrating midi into my system. Thanks in advance!
Not yet, but mine should arrive tomorrow or Monday. Will report back!

User avatar
SCOOBA_TANK
Common Wiggler
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:42 am
Location: WęSTüRñMã

Post by SCOOBA_TANK » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:03 pm

LTodd wrote:Not yet, but mine should arrive tomorrow or Monday. Will report back!
Killer! Thanks. I went ahead and pulled the trigger on this and a Digitakt. Looking forward to taking them for a spin. Can’t wait to hear what you think too.

spinalbeatz
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by spinalbeatz » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:05 pm

Please report back folks!

User avatar
justin3am
Let's go do some crimes
Posts: 1502
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Southern California

Post by justin3am » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:25 am

It's an excellent module. As was mentioned, it's a CV.OCD behind a euro panel (CV.OCD is even mentioned on the PCB). I see that as a good thing. It's super easy to setup and very configurable. The sysex configuration file is only ~350 Bytes, so I figure it should be pretty easy to figure out, in case the website disappears, somehow.

I'm using mine with an Octatrack and Beatstep Pro. I merge the MIDI data and filter out system messages with an AL-88c. It works very well for my purposes. I can get an extra 8 gate outputs from my BSP and still have outputs left over to get 2 voices for 1v/Oct, Velocity and Gate, either using the Octatrack or BSP as a source. I send clock and transport messages to the Mutant Brain from my E-RM MultiClock. The Mutant Brain seems to handle fast dense MIDI input without any issues.

I also have an Intellijel uMIDI (which I do like) but the Mutant Brain is much more useful to me because the outputs are so configurable, though it occupies a bit more space. The uMIDI does have a USB input, where the Mutant Brain does not but I never used it. But that may be something to consider for folks who are getting MIDI from a computer. Even so, there are cheap USB>MIDI interfaces out there.

Even after only using it for one night, I can definitely recommend this module. A real bargain for all it does.
"Thank god for the drugs and drums." El-P
3amNoise | Synth Videos

User avatar
rohelineoun
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:49 am
Location: Boston

Post by rohelineoun » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:38 am

bradpickapiper wrote:I just ordered a CV.OCD. seems a bit cheaper and saves on HP.
anyone else enjoying theirs?
You will have no regrets. Having everything in the case is always tempting but I don't always need MIDI control so the CV.OCD is the perfect option for me.

Vanden92
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:19 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by Vanden92 » Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:47 am

Got the Mutant Brain to use with the Digitakt and sometimes a Beatstep Pro. Absolutely love it! This, however, is my first exploration into MIDI. Silly question, but how do I send a MIDI SysEx file to the mutant brain? Only MIDI equipment I have is the aforementioned.

User avatar
justin3am
Let's go do some crimes
Posts: 1502
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Southern California

Post by justin3am » Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:22 pm

You need a computer with a USB MIDI interface which is capable of transmitting Sysex data. Lots of decent MIDI interfaces out there. Most can send/receive Sysex without any problems.

You will also need an application which can send the sysex file which the Mutant Brain editor generates.

In Windows I use Send SX for transmitting Sysex.

In OSX, I use Sysex Librarian.
"Thank god for the drugs and drums." El-P
3amNoise | Synth Videos

Vanden92
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:19 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by Vanden92 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 4:18 am

justin3am wrote:You need a computer with a USB MIDI interface which is capable of transmitting Sysex data. Lots of decent MIDI interfaces out there. Most can send/receive Sysex without any problems.

You will also need an application which can send the sysex file which the Mutant Brain editor generates.

In Windows I use Send SX for transmitting Sysex.

In OSX, I use Sysex Librarian.
Thanks. Is there a cheap option for a MIDI interface? I just want to get the Brain setup and then forget. Thinking about it - the Beatstep Pro has USB - can it be sent over this?

User avatar
justin3am
Let's go do some crimes
Posts: 1502
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Southern California

Post by justin3am » Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:18 am

It appears that the BeatStep Pro filters sysex.
https://forum.arturia.com/index.php?topic=85186.0

Unsurprising given that it generates so much MIDI traffic on it's own.

Lots of simple MIDI interface options: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss ... +interface

I used M-Audio MIDI Sports and a MOTU MTP-AV/USB for years (before I transitioned to MIDI over ethernet).
"Thank god for the drugs and drums." El-P
3amNoise | Synth Videos

stickman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:45 am

Post by stickman » Wed Sep 05, 2018 1:32 pm

If it's based on CV.ocd worth mentioning you need an interface that doesn't send active sensing messages (Roland um1 does)

Accent
Common Wiggler
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:05 pm

Post by Accent » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:43 am

I’ve got one on the way, planning to chain it to the midi thru on Yarns to give me 8 mono outs or 4 mono/one 4 voice poly from my Pyramid or MPC Live (probably with the MB on poly to free up the arps and things on Yarns), and the additional gate outs for clocks (would be cool if Hex Inverter added a way to multiply/divide clocks, and/or add arps to the outputs, but I digress). Hopefully mine comes soon...should have arrived today and looks like it’s in the wind with USPS, but I work for a shipping company and everything is chaos after the last holiday so I’ll give them a day or so.

Anyhow, anyone have a link for a super short midi cable, like 6”-8”, preferably sold in the States? I need to cover the smallest distance ever for a midi connection between Yarns and the MB, and the shortest cables I can find are around one foot.

User avatar
SCOOBA_TANK
Common Wiggler
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:42 am
Location: WęSTüRñMã

Post by SCOOBA_TANK » Fri Sep 07, 2018 10:57 am

Accent wrote:I’ve got one on the way, planning to chain it to the midi thru on Yarns to give me 8 mono outs or 4 mono/one 4 voice poly from my Pyramid or MPC Live (probably with the MB on poly to free up the arps and things on Yarns), and the additional gate outs for clocks (would be cool if Hex Inverter added a way to multiply/divide clocks, and/or add arps to the outputs, but I digress). Hopefully mine comes soon...should have arrived today and looks like it’s in the wind with USPS, but I work for a shipping company and everything is chaos after the last holiday so I’ll give them a day or so.

Anyhow, anyone have a link for a super short midi cable, like 6”-8”, preferably sold in the States? I need to cover the smallest distance ever for a midi connection between Yarns and the MB, and the shortest cables I can find are around one foot.
Yeah. I was in the same boat. The shortest I found was the Hosa 1' cable. It actually works great for me as I'm using it between the Digitakt and Digitone and the cable routing is slightly hidden.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”