MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Troubleshooting an issue w Rubicon, O_C, and MN Skiff
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Troubleshooting an issue w Rubicon, O_C, and MN Skiff
Pyrrhix
I'm brand new to modular, but not new to synths. I'm having an issue that appears to be power related with my newly-bought second-hand Rubicon, O_C, and Make Noise Skiff. Here's the issue:

When I have the O_C and Rubicon hooked up to the skiff, the Rubicon behaves erratically; the PW knob spits out heinous noise at various points of the knob travel, and square waves come out of the other waveform outputs. When the O_C is not hooked up, the Rubicon does just fine, and the PW knob gives me normal PWM for its entire travel. My other modules appear to be unaffected by the O_C's presence, and the power adapter is plenty powerful to power all modules present.

I'm not sure what to make of this. I can move the O_C to my impending second skiff, but I don't want to end up with the same issue again with another module. Is the Rubicon especially sensitive to power fluctuations caused by a digital module? Is the power board or adapter not working properly? Is the O_C a jerk? What gives?
Timmy
Is the O_C module behaving correctly, producing correct voltages on all outputs etc? If not, there may be a fault in it's construction (did you build it yourself or buy it ready-made?), such as a short somewhere which is causing serious voltage droop on your power rails. In general, the O_C design is not a jerk, but your particular O_C module may well be.

Also, are you sure that you have enough power for your skiff? What power draw does ModularGrid estimate on each rail, and what power supply are you using?
thomachine