MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Noob with a Korg SQ-1
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear  
Author Noob with a Korg SQ-1
baronofedge69
So I got my first sequencer, I'm trying to use it with a Korg MS2000b, a DX reface, and a Novation Mininova. End goal is I want to sync it up to Garageband's clock (I swear that's not where tracks will be produced,) and I have zero clue how to do that. I'm a total noob, and any kind of advice helps.
Panason
The SQ1 is supposed to be able to sync to incoming MIDI clock via USB... sounds dubious to me but maybe it works. Connect the SQ1 to the computer via USB and adjust sync settings on both the SQ1 and Garageband... I have no idea if Garageband sends out MIDI clock.... seriously, i just don't get it
Monotremata
You dont have to adjust anything on the SQ-1 at all. Just set it up in Garageband so it syncs to it. You should have a MIDI interface called SQ-1 available. Not sure why MIDI sync over USB sounds so 'dubious', it works perfectly fine, and is actually the only way to sync the SQ-1 to anything except a Korg Volca or with a CV clock signal (which is kind of a pain to do).

EDIT: Oh wait just noticed all your gear is MIDI only.. Wont work. When the SQ-1 is synced to a MIDI clock, it stops sending out MIDI and only sends out CV/Gate. The SQ-1 has to be its own clock to send out MIDI information.
th0mas
Given that the USB MIDI route won't work (which sucks), what may work would be to connect one of your audio outputs to the SYNC IN on the SQ-1, and play a single cycle square wave. Even AC-coupled interfaces usually can trigger devices because they don't need to hold the voltage for very long.

It would be kinda cheesy, but its worth a shot.
owen