MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Help needed to fix Octave Cat CV/Gate
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Help needed to fix Octave Cat CV/Gate
MrTea_SF
I have been looking around but cannot find the DIY solution to fix the gate input from 5V to 7.5V as mentioned in the SOS review.

https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/octave-cat-kitten-voyetra

The only thing I found was this but I am a newbie and this sounds a bit incomplete (or too easy?!?):

"Should be pretty easy, using an NPN transistor (ie 1N3904) as a switch-- detach the original tip wire from the gate jack, attach it to the transistor emitter, collector connected to the 7.5v (tap from the nearest source, your tech should be able to locate this spot with a DVM), new wire from the gate jack going through a resistor into the base of the transistor. Depending on the resistor used this should also work with voltages even less than 5v."
roglok
you can also use an op amp if you don't trust the transistor:

the comparator reference voltage is set via the ratio of the two resistors connected to the inverting input. the diode is there to block any negative voltages.
MrTea_SF
I don't mind using the transistor if it seems like a good solution.

I plugged the Cat into the Beatstep last night but it seems like only the Gate works and I have read other Cat owners being able to use it fine.

I have the SRM version.
roglok
it's not quite clear what your problem is. i was under the impression that you wanted to boost external gate signals to work with the 7.5V gate input of your synth. i'm not sure what you mean by "only the gate works"...
roglok
i just checked some pics online. if your back panel looks like this: