MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Doing a cover of a song, what are the legalities?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Artist Discussion  
Author Doing a cover of a song, what are the legalities?
rustyjaw
Hi all, I hope this is the appropriate place for this topic.

I am in the midst of a patch on my eurorack system that is a cover of an ambient track that I love. It's called "Out of Nothing" by O Yuki Conjugate...off their 1992 album "Undercurrents (In Dark Water)" - an album that is probably my top 5 listens in the 90s.

I'm nearing the point where I feel like it's worth recording, but I'm not sure what the legal territory is like for this kind of work. I've never done a cover before. Do I need the original artists permission to post the audio of the cover? What if it's free and not for sale? What if it's just a video on YouTube of the performance?

O Yuki Conjugate have a current website with contact info, I've considered contacting them to ask. But as of now I don't have a good recording of my version. I feel like I want to have something I'm happy with in case they wish to hear it.
GuyaGuy
In the US you need a mechanical license from the copyright holder to distribute a cover version and a sync license for video. Many publishers already have deals with YT to scrape off their license fee so YTers don't have to ask for permissions.

And in reality not many publishers or artists go after non-monetized covers.
sparood
Well it seems like you have two options. 1) Contact the artist, what you already seems like you are doing or 2) not contact the artist.