MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Max/Pure Data 'Urn' object - modular patch equivalent?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Max/Pure Data 'Urn' object - modular patch equivalent?
Navs
There’s an object in max/msp and Pure Data called 'Urn'. It "generates random numbers without duplicates":

https://docs.cycling74.com/max5/refpages/max-ref/urn.html

As the imagery suggests, once a number has been taken from the urn, it’s out of the running until the urn is refilled. Another image might be selecting cards from a pack and discarding each one after selection.

I'm new to PD, so I don't know if there's a way of 'unpacking' an object to see how it works. Any ideas on how one might patch this?

Bonus points if there's a way of determining which notes are randomly selected, rather than just how many numbers.
authorless
I can't think of a way the make it only do random values that haven't been used yet. Interesting problem though.

For getting the specific notes you want you could use a sequencer that has voltage control over step addressing. Doepfer A-154 plus A-155 would do it.
MarcelP
I am guessing the Schoenberg Tone Row module would do it - once it is invented... Until that arrives I have no idea how to patch it! It is the “removal from the urn”, or non-repeat, that is problematic. It is a mode that would be nice on Rene - a kind of randomised snake...
Navs
Thanks for your thoughts, guys.

authorless, yes, I had thought about a voltage addressable sequencer to set the notes. But it would still be prone to repeats if driven by a random CV.

MarcelP, yes! I was thinking if this would be musically useful and I think you may have found an application hihi