Att: Model 10 owners...

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Att: Model 10 owners...

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:39 pm

How the fuck can you get a 20 minute event out of this thing??? I keep trying but its not happening....

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:05 pm

I'll give it a try maybe tonight, to see how long I can get mine. I have two, so I'll try to test both for length. What are you trying to do that needs a 20 minute envelope? Just trying to get the ramp to control a whole session?

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:15 pm

dkcg wrote:I'll give it a try maybe tonight, to see how long I can get mine. I have two, so I'll try to test both for length. What are you trying to do that needs a 20 minute envelope? Just trying to get the ramp to control a whole session?
I am looking for very slow CV, its been what my music has been moving towards... I am working on a 40 minute piece right now that needs a SLOW envelope controlling a VCA...

I am super pissed right now...

At full rise and fall times with minimum time base I get 3 minutes total time not 10. With x8 time base I notice almost no difference.

So basically I get a maximum of 1 and a 1/2 minutes of rise and 1 and 1/2 of fall.

The time base knob works on faster settings, but not on slower. FUCK!

Alex

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:17 pm

Is there maybe a pot on the board that can be adjusted to go longer?

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:19 pm

dkcg wrote:Is there maybe a pot on the board that can be adjusted to go longer?
I emailed Peter, we'll see what he says... I will avoid sending this back like the plague... :bang:

God dammit...

thermionicjunky
Thyratron Genius
Posts: 2249
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:33 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by thermionicjunky » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:25 pm

Is it necessary to send it negative CV?

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:29 pm

thermionicjunky wrote:Is it necessary to send it negative CV?
I thought that... SO I tried, and it increases it quite a but, but not from 10-20 minutes... Hell even 10 minutes would be fine, but 3 sucks ass.

It however should be able to do it without any negative CV, I was excited about getting even more out of it than 20 minutes... :cry:

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:31 pm

You're not overtaxing the power supply are you?
I did, and couldn't get the STG YU Gate Delay to trigger at longer times.
Now that it has ample juice it is happy to go pretty long.
...not anywhere near the length that you're looking for though.

Maybe look for a trimpot on the back?

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:05 pm

Cat-A-Tonic wrote:You're not overtaxing the power supply are you?
I did, and couldn't get the STG YU Gate Delay to trigger at longer times.
Now that it has ample juice it is happy to go pretty long.
...not anywhere near the length that you're looking for though.

Maybe look for a trimpot on the back?
I would be fucking shocked if I was overtaxing the PSU, I am not running any digital modules and my case isn't even full...

I just double checked... and with my rise and fall at full, the time base has absolutely no effect... :russian:

User avatar
REwire
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 5:30 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Post by REwire » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:10 pm

I heard about you kind of people who have the patient to wait 20 minutes for an ADSR to end, not me!

Get one of Peter's Elf ADSR. They now last way too long and I and a few others did not like that. He may change to make them faster so get one now and ask if it's one of the originals.

In the meantime, how slow does any of your LFO's go? If so, maybe use that with a reset to start it and wait.

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:30 pm

REwire wrote:I heard about you kind of people who have the patient to wait 20 minutes for an ADSR to end, not me!

Get one of Peter's Elf ADSR. They now last way too long and I and a few others did not like that. He may change to make them faster so get one now and ask if it's one of the originals.
Interesting... I wish I would have known that!!!
In the meantime, how slow does any of your LFO's go? If so, maybe use that with a reset to start it and wait.
My Doepfer quadrature LFO will cycle every 8 Minutes with a negative voltage applied, that's what I did instead.

Just waiting to hear back from Peter...

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:40 pm

I'm testing one of them now. 1 minute and counting....

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:44 pm

dkcg wrote:I'm testing one of them now. 1 minute and counting....
Thanks bro.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:06 pm

Here's my results. I throughoughly tested the newer M10, the second M10 is more or less my control group. Thanks Mr. P for science class when I was a boy!

5:16 on M10 #1 with rise and fall cranked, base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode

2:27 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode (the middle mode).

2:43 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base just under halfway, no CVs input, exponential mode (position 3, the bottom)

3:01 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, exponential mode (position 3, the bottom), same as above, but I forgot to crank the base before.

3:05 on M10 #1 with rise, fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, logarithmic mode (the top position).

5:26 on M10 #2 with rise and fall cranked, base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode

M10 #2 is a couple months older.

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:09 pm

I'm testing the M10 #1 with a negative voltage to see if it gets any longer for me.

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:10 pm

I'll double check tonight, but I think the longest I got out of mine was something like 5 min, no CV applied.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:10 pm

dkcg wrote:Here's my results. I throughoughly tested the newer M10, the second M10 is more or less my control group. Thanks Mr. P for science class when I was a boy!

5:16 on M10 #1 with rise and fall cranked, base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode

2:27 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode (the middle mode).

2:43 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base just under halfway, no CVs input, exponential mode (position 3, the bottom)

3:01 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, exponential mode (position 3, the bottom), same as above, but I forgot to crank the base before.

3:05 on M10 #1 with rise, fall and time base cranked, no CVs input, logarithmic mode (the top position).

5:26 on M10 #2 with rise and fall cranked, base cranked, no CVs input, linear mode

M10 #2 is a couple months older.
Thanks again man...

See even 5 minutes would be better, but why the FUCK does it say it can clock up to 20 minutes??? WTF???

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:18 pm

5:30 on M10 #1 with rise at the minimum and the fall and time base cranked, linear mode, a leveler cranked feeding the time base CV cranked negative.

One last try with everything cranked. :) might be a little while. :hihi:

User avatar
dkcg
I pity the fool w/o enough VCAs
Posts: 9138
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:35 pm
Location: LA

Post by dkcg » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:26 pm

5:33. same as before, rise and fall both cranked

I guess they are really are percentages of the whole time that the time base controls. I bet there's either a pot on the board, or a cap that could be replaced with a bigger one to lengthen the time base, might lose some pluckiness tho on the fast end. But you could mod one maybe to be just a control device/slower envelope

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:33 pm

dkcg wrote:5:33. same as before, rise and fall both cranked

I guess they are really are percentages of the whole time that the time base controls. I bet there's either a pot on the board, or a cap that could be replaced with a bigger one to lengthen the time base, might lose some pluckiness tho on the fast end. But you could mod one maybe to be just a control device/slower envelope
See that's fucked because on the website it says 20 minutes...

User avatar
D/A A/D
glorious dissonance
Posts: 2336
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: HFX, NS, CAN

Post by D/A A/D » Wed Oct 29, 2008 10:38 pm

Image

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:18 am

It says "less than or equal to." :doh:
I guess they should have put more emphasis on LESS THAN.
Last edited by Cat-A-Tonic on Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:58 am

Yeah, I'm only getting 5 min (it's varying a little, but like 5:25) and the negative CV (from a M14 with no inputs patched) is not making a difference.

That's a shame. 5min is plenty for me, but it clearly shows 5 min *for each stage*.

I'll be interested to hear what Peter says.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:48 am

Cat-A-Tonic wrote:It says "less than or equal to." :doh:
I guess they should have put more emphasis on LESS THAN.
well it still says 5min per stage, so at any rate(no pun intended) it should be at least ten minutes, right?

User avatar
Cat-A-Tonic
Lobsters love Muff
Posts: 3694
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Yokohama, Japan

Post by Cat-A-Tonic » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:57 am

true true.
This is all very discouraging.
I'm certainly not in a hurry to order any Plan B stuff to have shipped to Japan.
Hopefully by the time I do (if ever) have the inclination they'll have their act a bit more ironed out.

Products should definitely be as they are advertised in numbers.
The royale with cheese may look alot bigger on the adverts than it does in your hands, but atleast it is still a quarter pounder (albeit a nasty one).

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”