TM-1 European power supply question

A place to discuss the brutal yellow evil we all love so much.

Moderators: Kent, metasonix

Post Reply
User avatar
Mosiej
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 pm

TM-1 European power supply question

Post by Mosiej » Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:41 pm

(Forgive me if this is addressed elsewhere)

Anyway I lugged my TM-1 to Europe and am deathly afraid of it exploding or me dying trying to plug it into a European outlet. Anyone got any leads in Europe where I can get a power supply for it?

Thx y'all!

User avatar
Yes Powder
Powder that makes you say "Yes"
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:23 am
Location: Albany, New York
Contact:

Post by Yes Powder » Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:32 pm

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/4006541/

This is one that Metasonix recommends.

User avatar
metasonix
Tube Pioneer
Posts: 4523
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:35 pm

Post by metasonix » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:52 pm

This will also work, though you have to solder a 2.1mm coaxial power connector to it.

https://www.conrad.de/de/halogen-stecke ... ?insert=62

User avatar
Mosiej
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 pm

Post by Mosiej » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:31 am

heck yes ! thanks a ton :nana:

User avatar
Mosiej
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 pm

Post by Mosiej » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:40 am

Is there anyway to get some sort of converter for the US power supply? or is a better / safer choice to get another one?

Also should I get the 60 W or 150 W?
This will also work, though you have to solder a 2.1mm coaxial power connector to it.

https://www.conrad.de/de/halogen-stecke ... 27160-12-v -60-w-max-geeignet-zur-aussenanwendung-610270.html?insert=62
All the best

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11883
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:48 am

Don’t use the US power supply overseas. The 50Hz power in Europe will likely melt the power supply.

User avatar
metasonix
Tube Pioneer
Posts: 4523
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:35 pm

Post by metasonix » Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:40 pm

Kent wrote:Don’t use the US power supply overseas. The 50Hz power in Europe will likely melt the power supply.
I've heard that MOST 60 Hz transformers will work on 50 Hz, but it's "not guaranteed". Sometimes you will find one that is marginal and runs too hot on the wrong frequency. Transformers that work at 50 or 60 do exist, but I never see them in low cost AC wall warts.....

User avatar
Mosiej
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 pm

Post by Mosiej » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:32 am

metasonix
I've heard that MOST 60 Hz transformers will work on 50 Hz, but it's "not guaranteed". Sometimes you will find one that is marginal and runs too hot on the wrong frequency. Transformers that work at 50 or 60 do exist, but I never see them in low cost AC wall warts.....
I am still a bit confused.. the link you provided it only comes in 60w or 150w option.. Still haven't found a soultion yet.. and I need to get this beast back up and running

User avatar
Yes Powder
Powder that makes you say "Yes"
Posts: 1527
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 2:23 am
Location: Albany, New York
Contact:

Post by Yes Powder » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:13 pm

I think you're confusing wattage with hertz. (Two conversations going at once can be confusing).
The US electrical supply oscillates at 60Hz, and Europe uses 50Hz
Wattage is just a function of voltage and current.

User avatar
metasonix
Tube Pioneer
Posts: 4523
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:35 pm

Post by metasonix » Sat Aug 04, 2018 11:54 pm

Mosiej wrote:I am still a bit confused.. the link you provided it only comes in 60w or 150w option.. Still haven't found a soultion yet.. and I need to get this beast back up and running
The Conrad power supply I posted comes in 60 watt rating only. I don't know why you are talking about a 150 watt version. Do not use a 150 watt version. Use the ones linked to.

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/4006541/

or

https://www.conrad.de/de/halogen-stecke ... ?insert=62
(with a 2.1mm coaxial plug added--talk to a technician if you don't understand any of this, please!)

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11883
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:13 am

metasonix wrote:
Kent wrote:Don’t use the US power supply overseas. The 50Hz power in Europe will likely melt the power supply.
I've heard that MOST 60 Hz transformers will work on 50 Hz, but it's "not guaranteed". Sometimes you will find one that is marginal and runs too hot on the wrong frequency. Transformers that work at 50 or 60 do exist, but I never see them in low cost AC wall warts.....
Yes, this is true; in general. However, the units supplied with my S-1000 and TM-(something... I’ve forgotten as it has been more than 10 years) melted at 50Hz when used with a step-down. I subsequently bought all new 220V/50Hz unit’s.

Post Reply

Return to “Metasonix”