MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

First solo modular show - freaked lifelong guitar player
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Play Out! Performance Modulars  
Author First solo modular show - freaked lifelong guitar player
909one
Hey There,
I'm really in deep with modular, well I wouldn't be here if I wasn't. Ha!
I've been playing guitar for about 25 years, played hundreds of shows, ranging from straight up rock to complete free improv. I've also played everything from bass, keys, even was a lead singer in a band too. But, I've got my first fully solo modular performance coming up and I'm starting to freak myself out, almost more than any performance I can remember. I've played modular out as a duo, in few combinations, with a drummer, while i'm playing guitar, but not totally solo. I'm finding the more I practice for this show, the worse I'm sounding, and the worse I'm liking what I'm doing. Initially I was drawn to modular because of its complete freedom of being able to sit down and create a whole world of your own, but now I'm not liking this world with the thought of having to doing it in front of other people. Hahah! I have a loose structure in my head of what points I want I get to, but every time I try to make these transitions they just sound forced to me. Also, I don't have a ton of gear, so I'm having a hard time creating enough interesting voices to have on tap to last 20 minutes for the set. I bought a few things leading up to this performance, but I don't want rely on buying more gear. I think what I'm noticing is that as I think about playing out solo that i'm realizing I'm no where as proficient on modular yet as I am on guitar, and its tripping me up. Not doing the show is not an option. I want to conquer the fear, but looking for some advice from you that are