older guitar pedal power

A place for the string slingers, pedal freaks and amp snobs in our midst.

Moderators: Joe., luketeaford, lisa, Kent

Post Reply
supersuper
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 4:05 am

older guitar pedal power

Post by supersuper » Sat Sep 22, 2018 10:53 pm

Hi,

I just stumbled across a stockpile of vintage guitar pedals maxon, dod, amdek, guyatone that a friends older relative was keeping in storage.

When I go to plug a battery im not getting a power light on.

I have not used guitar pedals in a long time, only really played acoustic, thought that maybe they needed to have a input jack plugged into activate?

I dont have any guitar cables currently so I tried putting a 1/4 inch headphone adapter in to trigger it on with no success.

Is it the ring config? do I need to have both an input and output plugged in to get power? I know I must be doing something wrong because they cannot all be non functioning.

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:47 am

Yes, usually needs an unbalanced TS input cable - when the cable is inserted it joins ring to sleeve, joining the battery. So TRS headphone won't work.

Gripp
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: Luleå, Sweden

Re: older guitar pedal power

Post by Gripp » Sun Sep 23, 2018 3:13 am

EDIT: Just noticed BugBrands good reply while writing this. Will post anyway. It took a while to write and goes in to a little more detail.
supersuper wrote:I dont have any guitar cables currently so I tried putting a 1/4 inch headphone adapter in to trigger it on with no success.

Is it the ring config? do I need to have both an input and output plugged in to get power?
Yes to the first question. You need a regular TS (mono) 1/4” plug in to the input.
The way this usually works is the pedal having the input jack being a TRS (stereo) jack. It is wired so that the ring goes directly to battery negative (usually; some have positive). That battery pole doesn’t have a connection to anything but the ring on the input jack. The sleeve on the input jack is connected to circuit ground.
So when you plug the TS in there it shorts the ring and sleeve, completing the circuit from battery to circuit ground. Now if you plug in a TRS, the battery will just be left hanging there. No current will flow.

And, no, you shouldn’t need a plug in the output jack.

There are, as always, exceptions to this but they are not common. You should be good to go!

supersuper
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 887
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 4:05 am

Post by supersuper » Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:06 am

hey guys thank you. Got a hold of some mono cables and guitar and they are all up and running! You need a mono cable into the input to activate.

User avatar
GuyaGuy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1743
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:49 am
Location: Brooklyn | NY | USA

Post by GuyaGuy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:29 am

The trick is remembering to unplug them to save battery life!

Post Reply

Return to “Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX”